busy busy

Standard

Bah. I just had this whole post written up, but the accidentally clicked on one of my toolbar bookmarks when I went to check something in another tab before posting. Apparently if you don’t have a title on your post yet, WordPress doesn’t save drafts for you. Just so you know. So now I’ve got to try to retype it all.

Thanks to everyone for the compliments on my little Estonian mitten! I’ve not yet started Mr. Estonian Mitten’s partner, but I hope to do so soon. I’m quite busy right now, because we’re in the midst of midterms at my universary, and on top of that, I’ve got a grant proposal due. So I’m a busy busy bee, and will remain so for the next couple of weeks.

I don’t really have any progress to report. I’m still stalled on the Candy Corn Socks, due to indecision about what I want to do, needle-wise. As I mentioned above, I’ve not started the second mitten yet. Wyl’s scarf has gotten quite a bit longer since I last posted, but I haven’t bothered to take a new picture. I’m also stalled on my Rogue sleeves, since I’ve reached the point where I am supposed to knit four more rows even, and then start the shoulder shaping, and I’m worried my sleeves are going to be way too short. I’ve got really long arms for my height (my violin teacher used to make fun of my “gorilla arms”; I’m 5 foot 3, but I’ve got the arms of someone who’s 5 foot 6 or 5 foot 7…my legs are equally disproportionately long, I’m rather gangly for a short person). This is my first time knitting a set-in sleeve, so I’m not exactly sure what I need to do to make sure it fits properly. One of these days I should get my husband to take a picture of me holding a sleeve up to one of my arms, so that I can solicit some advice from y’all about how much extra (if any) I ought to knit. For now, does anyone have any generic advice about set-in sleeves? Is there some length of my arm that I ought to be measuring and comparing against the pattern, something like that?

The Winter Interweave Preview is up now, and I’m quite excited about a few of the patterns (and quite the opposite of excited about some of the others, but we’ll not go there right now). I’m especially drawn to the Venezia pullover. I remember Eunny posting about designing that sweater awhile ago, and knitting it in some insanely short time period, and just from the little glimpses she gave of the sweater in that post, I knew it was something I wanted to knit. The full preview picture certainly confirmed that. I love the colors and the patterning, and the fact that it is more fitted and body-conscious, rather than being shaped like a box like so many of the traditional Fair Isle sweaters I’ve seen (which are gorgeous, don’t get me wrong, but I would absolutely drown in most of them, being the petite thing that I am). I’ve decided that I want this to be my first full Fair Isle sweater, and I’m determined to find a way to afford the yarn called for, even if it means waiting until the end of next year to start it. I can’t wait to get the magazine so that I can see the full pictures instead of the tiny preview pictures.

2 thoughts on “busy busy

  1. I have really long arms too and even so, it seems the style nowadays to have sleeves down to your knuckles, so I have to pay close attention. I never knit a sleeve that is longer than 18 inches from underarm to cuff, usually a little less. I guess, get a sweater out that fits you well, and measure that underarm seam.

  2. I have those arms, too! Somewhat serendipidiously, I call mine “monkey arms”. They are a full two inches longer than patterns standardly call for, and I ALWAYS overcompensate. The Rogue will work out, and cool beans! Eunny’s Venezia sleeves are a non-issue…

Leave a Reply

