coming up for air

Standard

Well, I’ve survived my first set of midterms here at Rochester, and am finally getting a chance to catch up on everything else. The last couple weeks have been absolutely crazy, and yesterday evening was the first I’ve gotten to knit in quite awhile now. But before I get to that, I want to make sure to thank Christine for an absolutely wonderful Boo-ty Swap package! I took a picture of the booty yesterday:

Boo-ty Swap booty

I actually received the package earlier in the week, but was so busy with midterms that I didn’t have time to make a post about it. Inside the package was a big ball of sock yarn, some tasty candies and fancy chocolates, a set of grape-bunch charms (Christine is from wine country), and best of all, a new set of size 1 dpns! Thanks so much, Christine!

So, of course, as soon as I got home from school yesterday, I cast on for the second Candy Corn sock. Here’s my progress as of this morning:

Candy Corn sock #2 begins!

(see how clever I am, putting Candy Corn Sock #1 in the picture so you can tell I’m not just showing you a picture of the first sock?). I’m actually quite a bit further along now than that picture shows, since I’ve mostly just rested and knit today (maybe there’s some chance I’ll actually finish these socks by the end of Socktoberfest!). I didn’t get a lot of sleep last week because of all of the work I had to get done, and have come down hard with the cold that’s going around the department, so I haven’t felt up to doing much of anything else. Alas, I slept too late to get my Boo-ty Swap partner’s package in the mail this morning, so I am now a delinquent pal, having missed the date I was supposed to have mailed it by. Ooops! It will have to just go out on Monday. (and I will have to resist eating any more of the absolutely delicious pumpkin cookies we made to put in her package!)

One thought on “coming up for air

  1. Glad your package arrived safely! I’ll be happy to retrofit those wineglass charms into stitch markers if you like! I debated about sending them, because not everyone is a wine drinker. They do look pretty on any stemmed glass though!

    Love the candy corn socks! They are so happy and cheery!

    Happy Halloween!
    Your Boo-ty swap pal.

    -Christine

Leave a Reply

