FOs:2008

first signs of spring

I’ve totally made up for my failure with FIRE, since it’s day 2 of EARTH and I already have a finished project! I was suddenly taken by an urge to knit a pair of Saartje’s Bootees, and had the perfect spring-green yarn leftover from a pair of socks, so I cast on last night and finished putting the buttons on this morning. And I just had to pose them outside with the first sign of spring in our backyard:

Green!

We had a warm day yesterday, and several flowers seem to have sprouted up overnight. I couldn’t be more delighted! I’ve been craving green like you wouldn’t believe, and to have it not just in yarn form, but in honest-to-goodness plant form too? Awesome.

It’s a lot colder today (it dropped 40 degrees overnight!), but the sky is the clearest blue and it’s absolutely gorgeous. I couldn’t stop myself from posing the booties in our red bush with that beautiful sky as the background:

Booties in a tree

The vital stats:
Pattern: Saartje’s Bootees (Ravelry link)
Yarn: STR Lightweight in “Lemongrass” (leftovers)
Needles: size 2 dpns
Buttons: actually, I used wooden beads, since I had no buttons. I like how they look like toggles.

I’m actually sending these booties off to a lucky somebody, but I won’t say who for now. I haven’t got much use for baby booties at the moment, but I know several people who do!

6 thoughts on “first signs of spring”

  1. These booties are adorable, and the green perfectly signifies the start of Spring! The buttons you chose are the cutest touch, too!

  2. The absurd cuteness-to-spatial-area ratio of those booties ought to be illegal. I have got to make some.

    And I *love* your quilt image collage. It makes me want to be a quilter in the worst way! I think I’m going to have to break down and buy some quilting books, too…

Leave a comment