first signs of spring

Standard

I’ve totally made up for my failure with FIRE, since it’s day 2 of EARTH and I already have a finished project! I was suddenly taken by an urge to knit a pair of Saartje’s Bootees, and had the perfect spring-green yarn leftover from a pair of socks, so I cast on last night and finished putting the buttons on this morning. And I just had to pose them outside with the first sign of spring in our backyard:

Green!

We had a warm day yesterday, and several flowers seem to have sprouted up overnight. I couldn’t be more delighted! I’ve been craving green like you wouldn’t believe, and to have it not just in yarn form, but in honest-to-goodness plant form too? Awesome.

It’s a lot colder today (it dropped 40 degrees overnight!), but the sky is the clearest blue and it’s absolutely gorgeous. I couldn’t stop myself from posing the booties in our red bush with that beautiful sky as the background:

Booties in a tree

The vital stats:
Pattern: Saartje’s Bootees (Ravelry link)
Yarn: STR Lightweight in “Lemongrass” (leftovers)
Needles: size 2 dpns
Buttons: actually, I used wooden beads, since I had no buttons. I like how they look like toggles.

I’m actually sending these booties off to a lucky somebody, but I won’t say who for now. I haven’t got much use for baby booties at the moment, but I know several people who do!

6 thoughts on “first signs of spring

  1. The absurd cuteness-to-spatial-area ratio of those booties ought to be illegal. I have got to make some.

    And I *love* your quilt image collage. It makes me want to be a quilter in the worst way! I think I’m going to have to break down and buy some quilting books, too…

Leave a Reply

