i got nothin’

Standard

My apologies for the blog-silence recently; I’ve not been getting much knitting done, and have been having a bit of a stressful time of things as far as academic stuff is concerned (trying to get a coherent set of research projects started back up after a year in which nothing moved forward thanks to illness is very, very difficult, and often demoralizing). Add to that the time change, which means I now barely see any daylight at all (I’m someone who’s very sensitive to that sort of thing), and I’ve just not been in the mood for much of anything.

Anyway, I’m still here. I thought it might be fun to do the little meme posted over at the Berroco Design Studio Blog. It’s a rather appropriately named one for me; we won’t be going anywhere for Thanksgiving, nor for Solstice, so it’s “staycations” all the way for awhile!

Favorite escapist movie: I fail at favorites, so I’m giving two: Fantasia and Le Fabuleux Destin d’Amélie Poulain.

Favorite libation or wintery beverage: Oooh, I actually have an answer for this one, for the first time ever! I just discovered, thanks to one of my friends, the wonderfulness that is Chai. Namely, Tazo’s Decaf Chai, made with Silk Vanilla Soymilk. I’ve always had a hard time with hot drinks; though I like the smell and flavor, I’m just not a coffee-drinker, and hot cocoa doesn’t taste good to me when it’s made with soymilk, but I’m lactose-intolerant, so if I have it with milk, I’m signing myself up for an uncomfortable next few hours. Tea seemed like the natural solution, but I’ve never liked it; it always just tasted like I was drinking water that someone boiled some dirty grass in or something. Blech. Apparently, though, the solution is to mix that tea with a bunch of awesome spices, and make it in vanilla soymilk…delicious!

new discovery [365.160]

A guilty pleasure snack or comfort food recipe: A couple of dark chocolates with a handful of almonds. I don’t even feel guilty about it, though, so maybe it shouldn’t count!

Who or what surrounds you on the couch?: If I cover myself in the wool blanket, I get both cats snuggled up with me!

me, in a blanket, topped with cat

How do you unwind and shut out the world at the end of the work week?: I’m not very good at unwinding and shutting out the world, actually. What I should do is stuff like yoga and knitting. What I tend to do is frantically run errands that got ignored during the work week. Which is exactly what I’ll be doing tonight, alas.

7 thoughts on “i got nothin’

  1. Willemtje

    I used to have terrible migraine-like headaches. When I felt an attack coming on I would go into the shower and let the (very) hot water run over my neck muscles. This seemed to relax them and it made the attacks a lot less severe and sometimes they would pass altogether. I heard from other people that they were helped by ice-cold compresses! I hope this may be helpful. Anyway good luck and happy knitting,

    a Dutch knitter

Leave a Reply

