progress.

Standard

Well, once again it has been awhile since I’ve posted. I’m now through the end-of-semester craziness, and as of Friday, have completed all of the requirements for my graduate program besides, well, actually putting together a dissertation and defending it. Which is sort of the most important part, but hey, progress is progress, even if I’ve been having a hard time feeling particularly good about it, lately. Oh, grad school.

I’ve made progress on something else, too:

neuron sock, on me

After I-don’t-even-know how many rips and reknits, I’ve finally got the neuron sock past the heel flap, and onto the gusset. I’m pretty pleased with it, I have to say. I do fear that no one on Earth is going to want to knit this sock, given how complicated it is, but I’m trying my best to make the pattern easy to understand. We’ll see how well I succeed on that front.

The heel flap caused me a lot of trouble, because I had two conflicting goals: to carry the end of the neuron pattern down such that one set of terminals ended at the heel, and to have a nice sturdy slip-stitch pattern in the heel. I resolved the conflict by combining the two:

heel flap, detail

I’m pretty happy with it! To me, a sock just doesn’t feel right without that sturdy slip-stitch pattern above the heel-turn, but I didn’t want to give up on those terminals, so I carried them about halfway down the flap, and then switched to slipped stitches. It feels great on the foot, and I think it looks pretty nice, too.

Ren and the sock, front view

Here, you can see a little hint of the second “branch” of the axon, which wraps around the leg to run down the foot. This branch will have terminals at the toe. I can’t wait!

At this point, the pattern is basically written, except for some math that I’m putting off for a bit later. I’m writing it for 3 sizes, with the possibility of mixing sizes (if, say, your calf is a small but your foot is a medium, or something like that). So now I’ve just got to finish off this sock, and then knit the second, so that I can have a little photoshoot before I put the final touches on the pattern. Who knows, maybe I’ll actually get it all done in time for Elinor’s contest (with the new deadline of May 21st).

Last but not least, Happy Mother’s Day to my beloved mom, and to all of you crafty mamas and mamas-to-be out there!

9 thoughts on “progress.

  1. As long as the pattern will allow for my long legs and robust calves, I am totally willing to knit them. I’ve got a gorgeous red Lang Jawoll just waiting to be appreciated.

  2. I love the idea behind this sock design! It is so cool and going to be very popular, I’ll bet.

    Congratulations on surviving your semester!

Leave a Reply

