a tale of two hats

Standard
Maddy stole my pussyhat and wore it for violin practice (she had an AMAZINGLY good practice session tonight!)

 

I promised a post about the hats M and I were wearing in my last post, so here you go! When I found the body and sleeves of M’s now-finished sweater, I was actually digging through my yarn bins in search of pink yarn (which does not feature heavily in my stash), because I wanted to knit a Pussyhat to wear in solidarity with those marching in DC this Saturday. I’ll be participating in a local solidarity rally that day, and as a knitter, I could not resist joining a social activism effort that involved knitting. But being the sort of knitter that I am, I also could not follow the pattern as written – that’s just not how I roll!

The yarn I found was a full skein of Cascade Eco+ yarn in “Crushed Berry”, and I promptly cast on for the first hat.

Here is what I did for hat #1: Cast on 80 stitches on size 7 needles using tubular cast on, and complete the set-up rows flat, then join to knit in the round. After the join, use 2×2 garter rib until it seems “long enough” (this ain’t a precise pattern, people!). Then, switch to size 9 needles and stockinette stitch, and knit until I could put the hat on my head and pull the two sides together at the top. Then I knit to 20 stitches past the end-of-round marker (so that the join would be centered and could be put at the “back” of the hat if the end-weaving didn’t quite neaten it enough) flipped it inside out and did a 3-needle bindoff. Took just a few hours of knitting, while listening to podcasts.

And then my daughter stole it from me the second she got home from school! It was very cute on her, so I let her keep it, and cast on for a second one for me – this time, with 4 extra stitches (because the one M took was a bit too snug on me, in truth), so the same process as I described above, but with 84 rather than 80 stitches.

Knitting pussyhat number two with the very needy wearer of pussyhat number one in my lap. It's been a very "need to be touching mama" sort of day here.

 

I have a LOT of yarn leftover (Cascade Eco+ skeins are HUGE), so may have time to knit another couple of hats for friends who are going to the DC march or to the local rally, but I’m not sure, because the semester starts this week so I’m about to lose my lovely daytime knitting time. I know a pink hat with kitty ears isn’t going to change the world, but it’s helping me feel connected, and frankly, knitting around and around is about the most soothing thing I could possibly do, and right now, I need soothing so that I cope with all of the anxiety and emotion I feel about what is happening to my country.

Twinsies!

 

So that’s the tale of two hats, which may become even more hats. M and I will be twins at our local solidarity march, and I hope to lead by example, and show M how to live a life of nonviolent resistance to injustice.

3 thoughts on “a tale of two hats

Leave a Reply

