a tale of two hats

Standard
Maddy stole my pussyhat and wore it for violin practice (she had an AMAZINGLY good practice session tonight!)

 

I promised a post about the hats M and I were wearing in my last post, so here you go! When I found the body and sleeves of M’s now-finished sweater, I was actually digging through my yarn bins in search of pink yarn (which does not feature heavily in my stash), because I wanted to knit a Pussyhat to wear in solidarity with those marching in DC this Saturday. I’ll be participating in a local solidarity rally that day, and as a knitter, I could not resist joining a social activism effort that involved knitting. But being the sort of knitter that I am, I also could not follow the pattern as written – that’s just not how I roll!

The yarn I found was a full skein of Cascade Eco+ yarn in “Crushed Berry”, and I promptly cast on for the first hat.

Here is what I did for hat #1: Cast on 80 stitches on size 7 needles using tubular cast on, and complete the set-up rows flat, then join to knit in the round. After the join, use 2×2 garter rib until it seems “long enough” (this ain’t a precise pattern, people!). Then, switch to size 9 needles and stockinette stitch, and knit until I could put the hat on my head and pull the two sides together at the top. Then I knit to 20 stitches past the end-of-round marker (so that the join would be centered and could be put at the “back” of the hat if the end-weaving didn’t quite neaten it enough) flipped it inside out and did a 3-needle bindoff. Took just a few hours of knitting, while listening to podcasts.

And then my daughter stole it from me the second she got home from school! It was very cute on her, so I let her keep it, and cast on for a second one for me – this time, with 4 extra stitches (because the one M took was a bit too snug on me, in truth), so the same process as I described above, but with 84 rather than 80 stitches.

Knitting pussyhat number two with the very needy wearer of pussyhat number one in my lap. It's been a very "need to be touching mama" sort of day here.

 

I have a LOT of yarn leftover (Cascade Eco+ skeins are HUGE), so may have time to knit another couple of hats for friends who are going to the DC march or to the local rally, but I’m not sure, because the semester starts this week so I’m about to lose my lovely daytime knitting time. I know a pink hat with kitty ears isn’t going to change the world, but it’s helping me feel connected, and frankly, knitting around and around is about the most soothing thing I could possibly do, and right now, I need soothing so that I cope with all of the anxiety and emotion I feel about what is happening to my country.

Twinsies!

 

So that’s the tale of two hats, which may become even more hats. M and I will be twins at our local solidarity march, and I hope to lead by example, and show M how to live a life of nonviolent resistance to injustice.

things I knit for Maddy: mini-bohus yoke sweater!

Standard

The first of hopefully many yoked sweaters to be knit this year turned out to be for M, not me!

Happy M in her new hat and sweater

 

Ravelry Project Page
Pattern: From my head, inspired by Elizabeth Zimmermann’s Bohus Yoke pullover pattern
Yarn: Patons Classic Merino Wool, in “Natural Mix” and various shades of blue, white, red, and brown.
Needles: size 6 for inside of hems, size 7 for the rest.
Time to knit: Ridiculously long, but it sat in a bin for about 6 of the 8 months it was in progress!

If that sweater looks familiar, it’s because I made it to match the Bohus Yoke sweater I knit for myself (9 whole years ago!). M saw me wearing it last winter, and asked if I could knit her one just like it, and it turned out that I had (more than) enough leftover yarn from the original sweater (except for the dark blue, for which I had to use a different yarn) to do just that. I had knit the body and sleeves last winter, but then set it aside after joining, because I’d messed up the short rows and wasn’t sure about the body length, anyway. Last week, while searching for yarn for a different project, I found the sweater-in-progress, ripped back to before the join, added an inch to the body and sleeves, and then knit the yoke, using my sweater as a guide.

Oh M, you're the best!

 

The yoke isn’t identical to mine, for the obvious reason that I had less space to work with, but I actually think M’s yoke looks nicer than mine! I used the same “figure out each row as I knit it” approach as I did with my own sweater, but I think I’ve gotten better at pre-envisioning how a particular motif could develop.

Bohus-yoke closeup.

 

I used purl stitches and slipped stitches to play with the colors – both of these allow for a color to “appear” in a round without being knit into that round, so I never carried more than 2 yarns at a time across a round.

Neckline detail

 

For the collar, instead of the seed stitch that I used on my sweater, I went for 1×1 rib with a contrast-color tubular bind-off, because I wanted maximum stretchability to go over M’s head. I love the way the blue tip is able to mirror the little pop of light blue at the bottom and sleeve hems:

Oh, M, you're my favorite :)

 

She got really into the whole “knitwear modeling” thing – isn’t she the cutest?! I just can’t help it, I have to share a couple more photos:

Cutie patootie

 

She got really into the whole "knitwear modeling" thing!

 

And of course, I can’t finish this post without sharing a photo of us in our matching sweaters:

Twinsies!

 

I know that M won’t want me to knit her matching things forever, so I’ll soak this up while I can!

(I’ll write another post about those hats in just a bit!)