I made a me-sized sweater, y’all!

Standard

And it fits and it’s beautiful and I love it!

I wanted to take nice FO shots of my Little Wave cardigan at Rhinebeck, but that didn't work out (the ones A took were blown out from the bright sun, alas). So instead of lovely autumn leaves, you get our trashcan and failed container garden in the backgr

I had hoped to get some nice FO shots of this sweater at Rhinebeck, but that didn’t work out…the ones my husband took were blown out from the bright sun, alas! So instead of lovely autumn leaves, y’all get our trashcan and failed container garden in the background. Oh well! It’s still an awesome sweater. Here are the details:

Ravelry Project Page
Pattern: Little Wave, by Gudrun Johnston
Yarn: Cascade 220 Heathers in Amethyst
Needles: Size 8s
Time to Knit: a couple of months, really? I just took forever to weave in the ends and sew on buttons.

Here it is from the back:

Little Wave, from the back.

I just could not get enough of that stitch pattern – it was delightfully fun to knit!

Here’s what it looks like worn open, which is how I’ll probably wear it most of the time:

Little Wave, worn open (which is probably how I'll wear it most of the time)

I think the Cascade 220 has a bit more drape to it when knit at this gauge than Shelter (this isn’t surprising, given the differences in how the two yarns are spun), which resulted in some extra length. I’m fine with that, because I like the longer, roomier fit, but it’s the first time ever that following the written directions for sleeves resulted in sleeves that are TOO long for me! (I’ve got disproportionately long arms – like, the arms of a 5’9 person, but I’m 5’4 at the most). Sometime I’d love to knit this pattern again in a “sturdier” yarn, like perhaps Bartlettyarns Worsted, just for a denser feel. But I do love the way this cardigan looks and feels.

It’s been a LONG time since I’ve finished a me-sized sweater. I’ve got another one that’s nearing completion, too – my brown Stripes! cardigan. I’d really like to work towards replenishing my own sweater collection, but I can’t neglect my daughter’s desire for sweaters…it’s just so wonderful to have a child who genuinely appreciates the things I knit for her! If only she’d stop growing so darned fast!

3 thoughts on “I made a me-sized sweater, y’all!

Leave a Reply

