things i make for maddy (but wish i could keep for myself!): a hat

Standard
I wanna keep it for me!

Yesterday, I finished the 2×2 rib hat that I’ve been knitting from the leftover yarn from the very first hat I ever made for M, back when she was still known only as “the munchkin”. For those who are interested, I cast on 164 stitches on size 2 needles using a sport/heavy sock weight yarn, and knit for 10 inches, and then decreased in a manner that I kind of made up on the fly but it looks ok, so whatever!

Top of the hat. Not 100% sure if I love the way I decreased but it worked, so whatever.

I’d cast on intending it for M, but 2×2 is so very stretchy, and it fit me so nicely, so I thought maybe, maybe she’d let me keep it for myself, if I plied her with yarn she’d previously squealed with joy over, in the Knitpicks catalog (Hawthorne Fingering Kettle Dye in “Turkish Delight”), and promised to knit her a 2×2 ribbed hat from it.

We'll find out tonight whether M wants this hot pink yarn to be a hat or socks.

But alas, my ploy did not work. Yesterday was the Equinox, and I put both the hat and the skein of yarn in M’s gift bag. We do a “Something to Do, Something to Wear, Something to Read” system for our seasonal gift giving, and she was also receiving a really cool dominoes set from Hape (“To Do”), the book “Rosie Revere, Engineer” (“To Read”, obviously!), and a kid-sized baby carrier so that she could wear her baby doll (“To Wear”). I figured that since the “To Wear” part of the gift wasn’t clothes, the hat and skein could go along with it. ANYWAY, I told M that I would very much like to exchange with her, and keep the hat but knit her a pink hat with the skein of yarn I’d bought just for her, to which she replied, “No, mama, you knit the hat for me, and I want the pink yarn to be SOCKS.” Oh, dear child, I’m glad you are not afraid to assert your wishes clearly, and I love you, so it’s yours…the hat, AND the yarn, which I will turn into socks for you.

Finished hat (in time for Equinox celebrations!), plus the skein through which I hope to "purchase" said hat from M :)

I can’t complain too much – at least I have a recipient who passionately loves the things I knit for her!

One thought on “things i make for maddy (but wish i could keep for myself!): a hat

Leave a Reply

