i knit a rainbow!

Standard

(But first, thank you so much for all of the kind and thoughtful replies to my last post. While I wish that nobody had to struggle with those feelings, I’m glad it connected with those of you who do. We’re not alone, and we can keep working to get better.)

From the back.

The rainbow shawl is finished, and it is so gorgeous I can hardly stand it! I threw it on to take pictures despite it being 91 degrees and sunny (so, not exactly wool shawl weather). Here are the details:

Ravelry Project Page
Pattern: Whippoorwill, by Carina Spencer
Yarn: Kauni Effektgarn, in the EQ colorway
Needles: Size 6 Knitpicks circulars
Time to knit: About 3 weeks

It's blocking!

The nice thing about summer is that if I finish a shawl, I can pin it out outside, and within a few hours, it’s dry! This is so much simpler than in winter, where blocking a knit item requires finding a cat-free space (borderline impossible in our house!) and leaving the item there for at least a full day.

All pinned out.

I set the shawl out in the morning, and it was dry before M got home from her summer camp. She helped me un-pin it…

Helping me remove the pins.

…and then posed for a photo with me (with the promise that we’d walk to the playground as soon as we finished!) We were both wearing rainbows, though hers were more appropriate for the weather!

We're both wearing rainbows! (Though hers are a bit more appropriate for today's weather!)

This is the first true crescent-style shawl I’ve knit:

So happy with how this turned out!

It drapes over my shoulders so nicely!

From the side.

I’m not sure I quite figured out how to wrap it in front (I still find that easiest with triangle shawls), but I gave it a go:

wearing it wrapped in front.

As a side note, it was lovely to be working on this rainbow shawl when the Supreme Court decision came out legalizing same sex marriage across the country. Knowing that my daughter will grow up in a country where she can marry whoever she loves, and that she was young enough when this decision was made that she’ll never know it was any different…that’s incredible. I still think there are problems with privileging marriage over other kinds of family structures, and we certainly aren’t done in terms of ensuring rights, respect, acceptance, and love for LGBTQ folks, and I hope that we don’t forget that. Actually, while I’m thinking about it, I do plan to write up a pattern for the top-down rainbow striped cardigan I’m working on, and while my usual charity of choice is Heifer International, I’d like with that pattern to donate some of the proceeds to an organization that supports LGBTQ folks. Does anyone have a favorite group they could recommend?

2 thoughts on “i knit a rainbow!

Leave a Reply

