Things I make for Maddy: Extra Yarn Sweater!

Standard

I promised in my last post that I’d have a post up soon about the sweater M was wearing in many of the photos. I never did get a great “Finished Project” photo of it, but she wears it ALL THE TIME, so I figure I should actually write about it!

January Maddy

Ravelry Project Page
Project Details:
Pattern: from my head – just a basic yoked sweater with some design details I’ll talk about in the post
Yarn: Fleece Artist BFL Sock in “Sugar Plum” (held double; every last inch of 2 skeins)
Needles: Size 8
Time to knit: Several months of trial and error!

So, the Extra Yarn Sweater. I first wrote about the inspiration for it back in August, and I started knitting it back in September, but as I referenced in the Project Details above, I hit some bumps in the road. My first attempt came out too small, and when I frogged it and reknit it with more stitches, I suddenly had HORRIBLE color pooling (I never took pictures of this, it seems, but trust me – it was not good). So I started over AGAIN, this time alternating skeins every row or two. This finally did the trick, and though it was frustrating to do so much ripping and reknitting for what should’ve been the simplest sweater ever (I mean really, a plain stockinette yoked sweater? Can it get any easier?), it was worth it for the end result.

"Extra Yarn" sweater plus litterbox.

(What, you don’t take your FO shots in a bathroom, next to a litter box, wearing no pants?)

It got pretty dicey towards the end, though – when I say I used literally every last inch of the yarn, I mean it! I was so nervous while I knit the yoke that I wouldn’t have enough yarn to do what I planned to do for the neckline – but it just barely worked out. The neckline was created by knitting in 1×1 rib twice as long as I wanted the collar to be, and then picking up stitches from the base of the ribbing. I folded the ribbing towards the front of the sweater, and grafted it to those picked up stitches (in rib). The result as a wonderfully sturdy-but-stretchy collar that had the look I was aiming for:

"Extra Yarn" sweater neckline

(Secret trick to getting a neckline closeup? Let your toddler tackle the camera! Actually, don’t do that – but that IS how I achieved this photo!)

The hem is a knit-in folded hem; I knit the facing on smaller needles, and did a purled turning row, from which I picked up stitches to create an attached i-cord edge. (This is the same trick I used on my Sullivan design.) I did a few rounds of decreases in the body to create a slight A-line shape; this is really a great shape for infant/toddler sweaters, especially for those of us who cloth-diaper, as cloth-diapered bums are delightfully round!

Here she is with the book that inspired the sweater:

With the book that inspired the sweater.

The sleeves came out a bit long, but I was kind of aiming for that, as I’m hoping this sweater fits her for a good long while. I aimed for measurements on the larger end of 3T (M’s been solidly in 3T since a little before her 2nd birthday – my big girl!). For now, she can roll them up.

Reading together.

(That evil yarn-stealing archduke!)

I’m really really pleased with how this sweater turned out, despite all of the troubles I had along the way with it. And Madrigal loves it – she wears it all the time, and when I offer her a choice of what to wear, she often asks for “Extra Yarn Sweater?”. I’ll happily oblige her desire for knitwear – she loves her “Button Sweater” (the garter rib cardigan I made her) a lot, too, and her “Stripe Sweater” (babyStripes!, v.2). I have several other sweater ideas in mind for my not-so-little one, too – now if I could just find the time.

2 thoughts on “Things I make for Maddy: Extra Yarn Sweater!

Leave a Reply

