hi! [6.365]

Standard

Hi! I joined late (and then was stuck on the road with only a phone for internet connection), so this is my first “on-time” post in the Few and Far Project. I’m really excited to stay in touch with y’all via photos this year!

hi!

Today is my first day at home after a crazy 2 week roadtrip to visit both sides of the family (my husband’s family in OH, and mine in MN). I have the house to myself, which basically never happens anymore – I should be working on course prep (my next semester of teaching starts on January 15th, plus I’m supposed to be finishing my dissertation) but I’m taking a day to just recover from the crazy travel. Tomorrow, I’ll work. Oh, how I’ll work.

This is going to be a big year for me: I’m going to be finishing my dissertation, and starting my first “real” job (a Lecturer position in my university’s Writing, Speaking, and Argument program – basically, I’ll keep right on being their expert on writing in the social sciences and teaching freshman comp courses, but I’ll actually get PAID for it!). These next few months are going to be VERY stressful and busy as I teach two classes (a freshman comp class, and an upper division Language Development class) and finish the diss, but I’m going to try very hard to stay as level-headed and balanced as I can while managing all that (plus a very intense and energetic toddler – at least I have my wonderful husband’s help with that part!).

11 thoughts on “hi! [6.365]

  1. jujudo123

    I am looking forward keeping in touch with you and the other friends here over the year, too. And good luck for this awesome year to you. Sounds great!

  2. Life will get much easier once your dissertation is done. Finishing his almost killed my husband. You’re in the final stretch, you can do this!

  3. mickles

    Oh my gosh yay!!! It’s Whitney! I’m thrilled to see you hear, and I am over the moon for you about the new position! I know you’ve had a rough go the past year, and it’s just fantastic to see you getting the good news you deserve. Congrats!

    • Oh, thank you Mick!! It’s just a one-year position, but it’s renewable, so…who knows? And it’s a real, full-time (and paid commensurately!) position. I’m pretty darned excited about it. They made a position just for me, how crazy is that?

      • mickles

        That is amazing! That should make you feel so good: they really see the value in what you bring to the department. How wonderful!

Leave a Reply

