the wee sweater

Standard

I finally got around to sewing on ribbons for the closure, so now can declare the wee sweater an Officially Finished Object:

the wee sweater

Ravelry Project Page
The Details:
Pattern: my own, with the butterfly lace adapted from a motif in Nancy Bush’s Knitted Lace of Estonia book
Yarn: Brooklyn Tweed LOFT, in “Blanket Fort” (a soft purple), well under a skein
Needles: size 4 dpns
Time to knit: About 2 months, but really the knitting didn’t take long at all, I just spread it out a lot!

I’m quite pleased with how it turned out, though I’m sure I could’ve done a lovely job of stitching on the ribbon. My handstitching skills leave something to be desired – they’d be much improved if I could get over my fear of sticking myself with the needle!

It’s a wrap-style cardigan, and it has vented hems – basically, I started with three equally long strips of garter stitch, which I then joined into a single piece (keeping one stitch in garter on each side as a “seam”. At the underarms, I placed a few stitches on waste yarn, and then cast on sleeve stitches using backward loop, then knit seamless set-in sleeves while maintaining the v-neck shaping. After that, I was able to pick up from the backwards loop cast on and knit little garter cuffs on the ends of each little cap sleeve, and then bound them off using i-cord. The entire body of the cardigan is edged in applied i-cord, which gives nice structure to this otherwise delightfully airy piece. I am just enamored with what LOFT does after a soak and some blocking!

butterfly motif

I’m so happy with the way the little butterfly motif turned out, especially since butterflies have special significance to the parents of this sweater’s intended recipient. I’ll never stop loving Estonian lace!

One last closeup of that butterfly…

butterfly motif, up close

I’m going to be putting this cardigan in the mail next week, and then it’s just a matter of waiting for the beloved little one who I knit it for to arrive. Keep the little one and her parents in your thoughts until then for me, please?

2 thoughts on “the wee sweater

Leave a Reply

