yoked

Standard

Wow, Sunday sure rolled around fast! We’ve had a really rough week – poor Madrigal finally succumbed to the nasty, nasty cold that Andrew and I have been struggling with for two weeks now. Add in teething and being on the verge of walking (seriously, she’s already taken a few independent steps!), and we’re not getting any rest. C’est la vie. All babies are different, and while Maddy is so amazingly awesome in so many ways, she seems to be the sort of baby who reverts to newborn-like behavior when she hits a bump in the road in terms of developmental milestones. Up every hour, wanting to nurse constantly, lots of screaming and crying, super clingy – it is what it is, but it probably warrants lowering my expectations for myself for the forseeable future. I’m not super human (you might recall from posts here in years past that I’m actually a chronically ill human), but I still expect myself to be the same teacher I was before Maddy, to be thinking clearly enough to make good progress on my dissertation every day, to do a great job of staying on top of housework and cooking and whatnot, to keep up with my crafty imagination and all of the knit designs I dream up – and that’s just not gonna happen. It’s just scary to be realizing this as I’m embarking on a job search that I hope will move us halfway across the country to be near my family, because it’s definitely raising my doubts about what’s realistic for me to try to commit to, career-wise. But that’s just life. Kiddos are unpredictable and they change your life (and you!) in ways you can’t predict. We’ll see where life takes us – I’m just grateful to have Maddy as part of it.

But anyway, musings on life and priorities aside, I actually did make some progress on Maddy’s sweater last week, mostly because my students did Peer Review during one of their classes, which gave me a full 75 minutes of knitting time. I’ve also taken to having friends from my department over for a couple hours every Saturday for crafting, because with many eyes on Maddy, at least a few of us can get some knitting/sewing/etc done. So, Maddy’s sweater now has a partial yoke:

mini-vahtralehed, front

I did some short rows right after I joined the sleeves, so as to give me more height in the back than in the front. This both lets the sweater lay more nicely across the shoulders (without short rows on a yoked sweater, you end up with a neckline that’s too high/choking in front, and sags in the back), and also gave me some extra rows for that tall maple leaf in the center back:

[69.???] mini-vahtralehed, back

You can’t really tell in this photo, but I’m using the maple seed “helicopter” motif I showed y’all in my last post around the shoulders. I’m still slightly terrified that the yoke is going to end up too tall. And that the way I’m doing the decreases (built into the “helicopter” pattern) isn’t going to yield a yoke that lays nicely on her shoulders. I wouldn’t normally fret so much over it (it’s just knitting, you can always rip and reknit!), but I really want Maddy to get to wear this sweater at Rhinebeck, and I won’t have time to reknit it if it doesn’t work out. A Maddy-sized sweater at 6sts/in turns out to be about the same amount of work as a me-sized sweater at 4.5sts/in!

Once I finish this sweater, I’ve got a few ideas for heavier-weight (and thus faster to knit!) sweaters for M, and I’d really like to be able to deck her in handknits (as opposed to storebought sweaters) once the weather is truly cold. Here’s hoping.

One thought on “yoked

  1. Oh, I’m sorry to hear about the cold. My daughter was always SO high-maintenance with even the slightest case of the sniffles – constant nursing, no sleep, incessant coughing. She’s almost 5 and this hasn’t improved a whole lot (though she just got tubes in her ears, so at least the ear infections should be less of a problem!)…you just kind of have to get through it before they’re finally old enough to take care of themselves a little better.

    I think there has been a conversation going in the national sense about how we need to improve workplace conditions to be more family-friendly in terms of flex time, sick leave, etc. And that goes for fathers, too. I hope that whatever job you find when you finish your PhD takes that into account.

Leave a Reply

