the return of garter rib

Standard

First: Thank you for all of your kind, compassionate comments on my last post. I know it is a very difficult topic to think and talk about, but I also know that my brother and his wife deeply appreciate knowing that their children are remembered, and that their losses are acknowledged rather than pushed aside. Thank you all so much for helping me to do that.

I’ve once again returned to knitting on my second garter rib cardigan:

[25.???] knitting

As y’all might recall, I’m hoping to finish up the pattern/tutorial, but to do so I needed to reknit the sweater, because I hadn’t quite taken enough notes the first time around to write the kind of instructions I want to be able to write. And then of course, I got sidetracked with that whole “having a baby” thing, and this poor sweater has languished for WAY too long. I’m glad to be back in the saddle with it.

post-join

Last weekend I finally found the time to work the joining row, and then in the evenings this past week, finished doing the seamless set-in sleeve shaping. So now, I’ve just got to work the buttonband/shawl collar, and then I’ll be done…and hopefully the pattern/tutorial will follow soon after!

i love this cardigan

I can’t wait to finish this sweater. Oh, sure, the weather’s not right for it quite yet, but it will be, and I can’t wait to wear this. The yarn (Cascade Eco+ in “Summer Sky Heather”) just glows.

And once I finish it, I just might have plans to make one for Maddy – I do have some Cascade 220 in the exact same color, for a slightly finer gauge version!

5 thoughts on “the return of garter rib

  1. Oh my gosh, matching sweaters for mommy and baby would kill me with happiness! It reminds me of an ad in the Fall 2007 issue of Interweave Knits where there’s a dad holding a baby and they’re wearing matching cabled cardigans and I keep it around because that’s exactly the kind of dad I want to be someday. So adorable!

Leave a Reply

