Things I make for Maddy: Aviatrix Hat

Standard

Y’all already got a sneak peek at this hat in the last photo of my last post, but since it’s my first FO post-baby, I wanted to give it a dedicated FO post of its own.

Aviatrix for Maddy

Ravelry Project Page
Pattern: Aviatrix baby hat
Yarn: Brooklyn Handspun “Instant Gratification Sock” in “Celery Stalk”
Needles: size 2 Knitpicks Harmony dpns
Time to knit: 2 days!

As I mentioned in a previous post, my baby girl’s noggin had outgrown the hats I knit for her before she was born, and since I like to take her with me everywhere I go, she definitely needed a new hat so that we could leave the house! I’d seen several of these Aviatrix hats on various knitting blogs and thought they were so cute, so decided that I’d make one for Maddy.

turquoise button

The button came in a package that a friend of mine sent to me shortly after Maddy was born, after she’d heard that I had no button stash of my own. I love the look of the turquoise against that green! You can also see in that picture that I used the tubular cast-on instead of what was called for in the pattern. I just don’t see the point in using anything other than the tubular cast-on for 1×1 rib. It looks SO nice.

Aviatrix for Maddy

My poor sleep-deprived new mama brain couldn’t quite get things right, though…I miscounted and knit the chinstrap too short, and also forgot to knit any buttonholes. I solved that problem by taking the length of yarn left after I bound off, and crocheting a little button loop at the end. I figure if she outgrows that length, I can always crochet extra loops as needed on the end of that loop. I’m actually pretty happy with how that detail worked out, even though it was purely the result of inattention!

I’d love to show you a photo of it on my dear Maddy. She’s worn it a lot already, but my girl, she does not really do “still”. Perhaps this weekend, when I have my husband home to help me out, I can get a modeled shot. But for now, just trust me: it’s adorable.

3 thoughts on “Things I make for Maddy: Aviatrix Hat

Leave a Reply

