What I made in 2011

Standard

I thought it might be nice to sort of recap 2011 in terms of my crafty endeavors. This past year certainly wasn’t my most prolific, knitting-wise, but considering that I also made a baby this year, I can’t really complain!

My first finished project of 2011 was the Garter Rib Cardigan:

[52.16] beautiful day.

That sweater has seen SO much wear in the last year! It’s pretty much the perfect sweater. I started another one, but haven’t yet finished it, nor have I finished the pattern I’m writing for it. But I’ve not forgotten about it!

Next, there was Sullivan. I don’t have a photo of my own, since I finished the sample on the last possible day I could in order to get it to Jared in time for photography. Designing and knitting a sweater during my first trimester turned out to be pretty darn difficult, but I’m so proud of the pattern. It’s done really well, and I’ve gotten great feedback from the people who’ve knit it, and overall I’m just really delighted with the whole experience of working with the Brooklyn Tweed folks and being part of Wool People and would love to be able to work with them again.

Other than those two projects, everything else I made this year was for my baby. Two projects were sweaters based off ones I’d designed in my own size: babyStripes!, and the baby version of the Garter Rib cardigan. babyStripes! ended up being a bit bigger than I’d intended, so I’ve not put it on Maddy just yet, but the baby Garter Rib was perfectly newborn-sized. In fact, I bet it wouldn’t even fit my chunky little girl anymore!

I also made hats. Three of them: A modified sweet baby cap, intended to match babyStripes!, a plain 2×2 ribbed cap, and a pumpkin hat, which we used when we brought her home from the hospital two days after Thanksgiving.

So, what does 2012 have in store? I have no idea. I plan to finish a few patterns (and maybe create some totally new ones), and I’d like to knit a couple more cardigans for myself (since cardigans are all I can wear right now, what with having become Madrigal’s sole food source!), as well as some more things for Maddy. I’m hoping to make it to Rhinebeck this year, and even if *I* don’t have a spiffy new Rhinebeck sweater, I’d really like for my baby girl to have one! But I’m not going to set any real goals or expectations for myself on the crafty front. It’s just too hard to predict how things will go now that I’m a mother. And expectations just set you up for frustration and disappointment. I just want to enjoy this year, and especially my baby girl, as much as possible. If I get a lot of crafting done, great, and if I don’t, so be it.

2 thoughts on “What I made in 2011

Leave a Reply

