pumpkin hat!

Standard

I’ve stopped going into campus regularly, and am almost entirely working from home these last few weeks leading up to the munchkin’s arrival. Though I do try to actually accomplish worky-work every day, I sometimes get a bit distracted by making things for the munchkin when I’m home.

[112.95] knitting for munchkin.

Case in point: the hat I’m knitting in the above photo. I decided awhile back that I absolutely had to knit a pumpkin hat for my little Thanksgiving baby to wear home from the hospital, but I had no suitable yarn (orange just isn’t a color I use very often). Thankfully, Danielle came to the rescue, and sent me a ball of Knitpicks Stroll in the appropriately-named “Pumpkin” color. The yarn arrived last week, and I didn’t waste any time casting on. I finished yesterday after an unintentional knitting marathon (like I said, I get distracted!):

pumpkin hat!

Ravelry Project Page
Pattern: Cosset (with improvised stem/leaf)
Yarn: Knitpicks Stroll in “Pumpkin” and “Grass”
Needles: Size 1 Knitpicks Harmony dpns
Time to Knit: Just a couple days!

I know I could’ve made it look even more “pumpkin”-ish had I made the stockinette columns wider than the purl columns, but I was more worried about making sure the hat would fit our munchkin’s head, so went with the very stretchy 2×2 rib of the Cosset pattern I’d used for the other baby hat I knit. By switching to green yarn just before the i-cord stem, and then improvising a leaf, I think I still got a pretty pumpkin-ish looking hat.

pumpkin hat!

I can’t wait to bring our little munchkin home in this hat!

4 thoughts on “pumpkin hat!

  1. Juliet in Grand Rapids

    You are just adorable pregnant… radiant… glowing… even rested. Things will change. I’ll leave it at that. But your munchkin is so blessed to have lots of wooly warmth to look forward to.

    Awaiting more posts.

Leave a Reply

