I’m in Twist Collective!

Standard

Not an April Fool’s joke, I promise! Remember this?

56: swatching

If you check out this page in the newest Twist Collective, you’ll get to see what that little swatch grew up to be!

This is my first design that’s been published anywhere other than, you know, by me, and I’m really thrilled with it. I unfortunately didn’t get a chance to take any even halfway decent pictures of the sample before I sent it off, so you’ll just have to go with the lovely photos the Twist folks took.

I knit pretty much the entire sweater in the 5 days I was home over Thanksgiving, and let me tell you, knitting all day every day for 5 days in cotton yarn? It actually isn’t that fun. I really want to knit myself another one, at a more leisurely, enjoyable pace, in some Rowan Calmer I’ve got hanging around the stash. So, if anyone is interested in a knitalong of sorts, do let me know – I’d be happy to help make that happen (and participate, myself).

As you can probably tell from the pattern description, this design contains many of my favorite things: split welts, seamless set-in sleeves, tiny saddles, gansey touches. Some of the longer descriptions of techniques didn’t end up in the pattern (for obvious, space-saving reasons), so I plan to post some tutorials over the next few weeks (or months, or whatever) for anyone who is encountering those techniques for the first time. Stay tuned!

18 thoughts on “I’m in Twist Collective!

  1. Fantastic! That’s an awesome design! I love how the lace panels work together, and I love the shape of the neckline. Very nice work, and congratulations!

  2. Margaret

    Yayyyy! I guessed that’s what you were working on, since I was working on the Sunbreak pattern at the same time. Congratulations! It’s lovely! =D

  3. Wow, Twist is a prestigious publication for a first published pattern! Congrats! Yours was one of my favorite designs when I paged through, and I didn’t even notice the name at the time.

Leave a Reply

