almost there

Standard

I’ve been rather under the weather the last few days, and have spent more time than I ought to have propped up on the couch watching Battlestar Gallactica with my husband. We just started watching a week or two ago and are already onto season 2 (no spoilers, please – this is our first time watching the series!). It’s given me a nice chance to get some solid knitting done on the garter rib cardigan:

halfway through bind-off.

I’m now about halfway through the bind-off on the shawl collar/button-band. I decided to do a tubular bind-off, because I like the way it gives a polished edge that looks nice on both sides (very important in something like a shawl-collar, where both sides are on display).

tubular bind off

It takes FOREVER, but I am not the sort of knitter who will trade speed for a well-finished garment. It just doesn’t make any sense to me. Yes, a bind-off that takes several hours is slightly crazy-making in the moment, but if your goal is to have a sweater that you can wear with pride for years and years, what’s a couple of extra hours? Cutting corners is hardly ever worth it in the long run.

Just another hour or so to go…

tubular bind off in progress

Then I’ll make pockets (which, in the tutorial, I suggest making first, as a sort of gauge swatch, but I didn’t think of that brilliant plan until I’d already knit most of the cardigan), and possibly figure out a way to stitch on some elbow patches before I’ll call this thing “finished”. The tutorial-based pattern will hopefully follow shortly thereafter!

10 thoughts on “almost there

  1. barefootrooster

    gorgeous. and thanks for this example of patience at the very end of a project — i’m slowly but surely plodding through a long sewn bind off!

  2. I did a tubular cast-off on a vest and I found the experience didn’t take hours, but it did become very meditative and enjoyable. Plus, beautiful edges! It turned me into a fan. :)

    • Between the set-up rows and the separating onto two needles and kitchenering, it definitely did take hours for this buttonband/collar – but it was a whole lot of stitches! And I don’t mind doing it at all – you’re right, it’s very meditative.

      -whitney

  3. I’ve never tried this kind of bind-off, but now I’m intrigued. Even though I’m not able to knit much, I’ve become very focused on the finishings. I like your blog and your photography! Thanks for sharing your process!

  4. I have also never tried the tubular bind off, probably because I tend to be an impatient knitter who likes to get projects off the needles and onto my shoulders. The tubular technique is used for ribbing, right? My husband wants me to change the collar on a sweater I knit for him, so this method might come in handy.

  5. Eva

    Totally agree about the finishing details. SOOOO fussy at the time, but if I can make myself breathe through it the reward is unquestionably worth it. I feel this way anytime i-cord is involved, but I love it dearly as an edging.

  6. I’m going to have to try out the tubular bind-off on something. Maybe when I actually make a sweater or my next pair of socks. Socks might be the easier option.

    Can’t wait to see the finished sweater and the pattern.

Leave a Reply

