ribbing away

Standard

I cast on for sleeve #2 of the garter rib cardigan yesterday:

105: ribbing away.

As with the body, I cast on using my beloved Long Tail Tubular Cast On, and knit in 1×1 rib for a few inches before switching to garter rib. I want the cuffs to be nice and long, so that they can hang over my hands when I’m cold (almost always) or be folded back when I need my hands free.

I’m especially enchanted with the way I’m doing the increases:

increases

I’m working centered double increases, starting with the stockinette column next to the end-of-round marker, and then working increases in the center of the wedge that’s formed out of each double increase. It makes a nice little “wedge” of increases that don’t interrupt the lines of the garter rib around the sleeve. When it comes time to join the sleeves to the body, I will choose my stitches to be held for the underarm from the center of that “wedge”.

It’ll be awhile longer before I can join sleeves to the body, though, because I’m going to rip back part of the body to redo the neckline decreases. I want a very gradual v-neck as the base for the shawl collar, and the decreases as I knit them originally are too steep. It’s alright, though – it will give me a chance to test out my tutorial for planning out the neckline shaping!

I start teaching again this week, so I likely won’t be posting quite as much as I have in the last week or two. We’ll see, though; I’m hoping that some of the changes I’ve made to the way I do things over break will help me maintain a more balanced, healthy schedule for myself, and if that happens, you just might see a little bit more of me around here!

Leave a Reply

