FFO (Finally Finished Object)

Standard
le tour, on the porch

Finally, finally, I have a finished sweater to show off here on the blog. I started this poor sweater well over a year ago, as part of my tradition of knitting a gansey during the Tour de France. It took a bit longer than the Tour to finish, and then sat, neglected, for almost a year before I finally got around to weaving in the ends and kitchenering the underarms shut.

Here are the details:

Ravelry Project Page
Pattern: My own, which I hope to write up this year
Yarn: Schoeller+Stahl Morea, 6.5 skeins
Needles: Size 3
Time to knit: Really, only a couple of months. I just drug it out like crazy at the end.

This little ganseyette turned out exactly like what I was envisioning when I first sketched out the design. The only problem with that is that it might be a bit “too pretty”, if that makes any sense. My husband laughs at me when I say that, but the truth is, I tend to gravitate towards my more rustic/traditional/basic sweaters rather than to the heavily-patterned, “pretty” ones (case in point: even though I love it, I never wear Demi). But, we’ll see how this little ganseyette fares. I do hope to write up a pattern for it, but of course the sizing will be a nightmare, given the amount of stitch patterning involved. If I can have it written up by the time the next Tour rolls around, I’ll be happy.

But now, how about some more pictures?

le tour, waist shaping

I built the waist shaping into one of the vertical panel motifs that runs up each side of the sweater. That particular motif was meant to evoke the switchbacks the cyclists navigate as they traverse the mountain stages.

le tour, neckline

I finished the neckline using a picot bind-off, which mirrors the look of the Channel Island Cast-On that I used at the hems. I’m delighted with how that little detail turned out.

le tour, sleeve detail

The sleeves are essentially EZ-style seamless, set-in sleeves, but with the tiniest of saddles, created out of the mini-cable that runs up the center of each sleeve.

le tour, side/back

I love the tiny little saddles, and the way they open up into the neckline via a (very tiny) neck gusset…a traditional gansey touch!

le tour, finished

While I wasn’t a fan of weaving in so many ends (no wonder I usually choose yarns that come in large put-ups and are easily spit-spliceable!), the stitch definition on this yarn is amazing.

11: new sweater

It’s hard to believe that this is my first finished sweater of the year, and I didn’t really knit on it this year at all. What a crazy year it’s been!

14 thoughts on “FFO (Finally Finished Object)

  1. The sweater is just beautiful and fits you perfectly! I can’t imagine how difficult it would be to write up a pattern for it, though. Good luck with that and everything else this coming year.

    • Thank you! I’m exited to try out the suggestion that Eva made in her comment, writing the pattern as a set of blank charts with the crucial details (the cast-on/bind-off, the shaping, the saddle, the set-in-sleeves) described in detail.

      -whitney

  2. Eva

    Oh Whit, it looks amazing!! Although I love ganseys, I had a difficult time imagining what your more feminine, updated version would look like when you were knitting it — and it looks so, so much better than anything I could have imagined.

    Might I suggest something about writing up the pattern? Rather than fussing over the particular stitch patterns you used, and fitting them to the various sizes, you may have an easier time giving a blank chart for each size (or one master with red borders demarcating each size), perhaps with the switchback-patterned decreases included.

    The best parts of your design aren’t the particular stitch patterns, I think (though they are awesome), but the careful details you’ve added and highlighted: the waist-shaping, the mini-saddle with seamless set-in sleeves, the picot hems and cast-offs, etc. I think many people will be delighted to choose their own textured stitch patterns for their individual ganseys if you provide the tools for the overall shape and shaping of the sweater. :)

    • That is a *brilliant* suggestion! I’m a big fan of patterns that let the knitter choose their own details, so writing the pattern up that way would even work out nicely for me from a design-philosophy standpoint :)

      Thank you!

      -whitney

  3. Whit – it’s amazing…really amazing! This is just the sort of sweater that I would wear – please let me know if you need any help testing the pattern some time :o)

Leave a Reply

