disjointed

Standard

(You’ll notice I’ve messed around with my blog layout, and am also trying out a “punctuation-added” version of my blog name. Let me know what you think!)

If you’ve been following my blog for awhile, you probably know that when I have extended periods of very intermittent posts, I’m either very busy, very sick, or both. Alas, right now it’s both. We’re now about halfway through 2010, and I’ve spent almost all of it unwell. If it’s not flareups of joint and nerve issues, it’s bronchitis or some other sort of respiratory nastiness. Or, as is the case right now, all of the above. It’s incredibly frustrating, because there is So Much I Want To Do. (And, of course, So Much I Need To Do. They’re not entirely disjoint sets, those two!)

So, what have I been up to lately? Well, I’m going to be teaching a writing course next year, and as part of my fellowship for that, I’m taking a pedagogy course, which has been a lot of work, but also a really great experience for me, as someone who cares very deeply about teaching. I’m also prepping to teach a summer version of the course I’ve TAed the last two years, which should be a lot of fun…instead of being the TA for a class of 140, I’ll be the instructor for a class of about 5 students.

Last weekend, we were in Columbus for Memorial Day. We stayed with my brother and his wife, who treated us to goodies from their beautiful garden. We got to see our niece for the second time, and she was far less terrifying to hold now that she can support her own head! We also got to visit Elinor and her family (photographic evidence here), who had just moved to town. I had such a blast meeting her in person!

What else, what else? A couple of weeks ago, I got a wonderful package in the mail from Cathy, for the Good Mail Day Swap that some of us had set up on Flickr:

good mail day swap!

Such gorgeous yarns, and awesome goodies, too! Thanks again, Cathy!

I also cast on for a new cardigan, only to decide I’d be better off ripping it out and using the yarn for something else:

Beaverslide Light Sport Weight

I had a cone of Beaverslide Light Sport Weight, in a lovely heathered grey, which I had hoped to turn into a Pas de Valse cardigan for myself. But it just isn’t working, and I ought to have known better…this is the sort of yarn that really blooms when you wash it. That blooming, while gorgeous, takes away a lot of the drape, and Pas de Valse is nothing without the drape. I do have another idea (a cardigan of my own design) for the Beaverslide, which I’ll probably write about soon.

I also picked up some Alpaca Sox yarn, in a gorgeous deep green, to knit a cardigan for myself:

alpaca sox

One my dear friends gave me Connie Chang Chinchio’s Mountain View cardigan pattern as a gift a little while back, and I couldn’t find any appropriate yarn in my stash (at least, in large enough quantities) for it, so when I found the Alpaca Sox on sale, I scooped it up, thinking it would make a lovely Mountain View. Of course, with the demise of the Beaverslide Pas de Valse, I’m half-tempted to use this yarn to knit that pattern instead. But I grew rather attached the idea of a grey Pas de Valse, since I think it would make a really useful addition to my wardrobe, so I think I’ll stick to my original plan, and keep my eye out for a good grey yarn in the meantime.

Last but not least in the new-yarn-acquisition front is this lovely yarn:

frangipani

It’s a cone of gansey yarn, from Frangipani, in a beautiful color called “Sea Spray”. I’d gotten a set of colorcards from their site awhile back, and decided that I absolutely had to try to knit a second version of the short-sleeved “ganseytte” that I designed during last year’s Tour de France, but this time in actual gansey yarn. If the reknit (goodness knows when it’ll actually happen) goes well, I’ll put out a pattern for it!

This post is feeling so incredibly disjoint! I guess that’s what happens when you start blogging really sporadically. There are a million other things I could write about…I’m starting to work in earnest at getting patterns written for “Garter Whimsy” (the basic seamless set-in sleeve v-neck with lots of garter/garter-rib accents that I knit last year) and Vahtralehe (the name I’ve given to the maple leaf cardigan I now wear all the time). I’m working on a couple of sweaters “commissioned” by friends. I’m trying to put together a submission to Twist, and to be brave and reach out to particular yarn companies whose yarns I’d love to use in designs. I’ve got to be careful not to overextend myself, though.

11 thoughts on “disjointed

  1. It’s always nice to see you blogging, but I’m sorry to hear that you haven’t been feeling well. It sounds like you have some great knitting in the near future – have fun!

  2. Gramma Phyl

    It’s good to hear from you, even if it sporadically. Sorry to hear that you haven’t been feeling the best. You know best how to pace yourself, but I’m looking forward to seeing any of the designs you post. I’ve loved the ones you have shared so far. And oh what luscious yarn you have to work with. The colors just sing, even the grey beaverslide. (But then I love soft greys like that one.)

    • Thanks! Sometimes I’m afraid that I *don’t* know best, how to pace myself. But hopefully I’ll figure out a way to get the things done that I want to get done without trying to do too much. The grey beaverslide is even more lovely in person…such a nice soft heathered grey.

      -whitney

  3. Talk about a good mail day! That looks more like a GREAT mail day.

    Hope you’re feeling better, and best of luck with all the school stuff. I’m teaching a writing seminar for seniors next fall, so I’m right there with you!

    • It was a pretty spectacular mail day, yep! I’m really excited about teaching this writing course. What’s the theme for your seminar?

      -whitney

  4. Good to see you, sorry to hear you haven’t been very well. Those yarns look gorgeous…looking forward to seeing what you do with them.
    Good luck with all you have planned…take it easy though x

  5. It’s funny… I’m working on Mountain View right now and thought that Beaverside would be perfect for it! Your swatch is very similar to the one I did for mine. I’ve just started armhole shaping so I’m hoping to put an update up soon.

Leave a Reply

