i heart nupps

Standard

Why hello there, blog! I just cannot seem to find the time to update this thing more often than about once every 1-2 weeks. Oh well. In the time since I last wrote, I’ve survived a couple of symphony rehearsals and a variety of scheduling nightmares, answered endless emails from students in the class I’m co-teaching, and hosted my brother and his wife for a wonderful visit here over Labor Day weekend. We ate good food, watched some movies and TV, and played a lot of Rock Band (which they kindly brought along with them). I really enjoyed getting to have them here!

On the knitting front, I’ve joined the sleeves to the body of my Rhinebeck cardigan, knit half a yoke, ripped out a yoke, and started over again, with reworked chart. It’s going better this second time around, so I figured I’d share some photos with y’all. Here’s the back of the sweater, partway through the yoke:

yoke beginnings

(I’m showing you the back, since it’s easier to spread that part out on the needles…we’re still in “too many stitches for the needle” territory until some more serious decreasing happens). The bit of lace you can see is the central point of the maple leaf nupp/lace motif I doodled out. I’m so excited to see more of it knit up, and to see whether it looks as much like a maple leaf when knit up as it does in chart form!

The nupps make for rather slow going (although I’ve got a nice routine now, using a much smaller dpn to do the p5tog on the wrong side after the nupp rows, which helps). I don’t mind, though, because the texture they create is wonderful. Here’s a closeup of the nupps and lace:

closeup of yoke motif

And here’s an even-closer-up:

i heart nupps

We’ll see how long it takes me to finish this up given how busy I am this semester, but I’m about 99% sure I can have an awesome new cardigan to wear at Rhinebeck, assuming it’s cool enough by then. Here’s hoping!

16 thoughts on “i heart nupps

    • Thanks! I’m inching ever closer to being done with the yoke…then it’s just button bands (and choosing buttons, which I’m feeling terribly indecisive about).

      -whitney

    • It is SUCH a perfect color, I adore it. I would love to meet you at Rhinebeck, if you do end up driving there! Of course, if not, it’s not like we don’t live reasonably close, anyway :)

      -whitney

    • I’m crazy about this color. I’m getting awfully close…almost done with the yoke, and then there’s just button bands (and buttons!). I’m really looking forward to Rhinebeck!

      -whitney

    • Thanks! I can’t wait either…all I want to do is just knit until it’s finished so I can see it all knit up. Alas, this semester is keeping me pretty busy already.

      -whitney

  1. It’s looking great! Can’t wait to see it.

    Two years ago it was too warm to wear a sweater at Rhinebeck. Last year was so freaking cold that most people had on coats. It’s hard to predict!

    • Thanks! I’m so eager to see what it looks like all knit up.

      Yeah, mid-October is so hard to predict, weather-wise, so we’ll just have to see whether I can show off this sweater there!

      -whitney

    • Thanks! I’m so excited about going to Rhinebeck (this will be my first time there)…I’m taking advantage of the fact that I live reasonably nearby (though still pretty far, for being in the same state!)

      -whitney

Leave a Reply

