Finally Finished Object: Ishbel

Standard

I finally got around to blocking Ishbel yesterday, so now she can have her official FO post. (Because, you know, a project isn’t finished until it’s gotten its blocking and had its picture taken).

ishbel! [365.364]

And of course, the vital statistics:

Ravelry Project Page
Pattern: Ishbel, by Ysolda Teague
Size: Large Stockinette, Small Lace
Yarn: Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool, exactly 2 skeins
Needles: Size 7 Knitpicks Harmony circulars
Time to Knit: April 18-May 16 2009

I’m not keeping this one. It’s for my grandmother, who admired my Icarus when I was down visiting this Spring. I don’t think she reads my blog (but if so: Hi Grandma! Sorry for ruining your surprise!), so I’m posting this before I send it off. I hope she likes it!

ishbel as triangle

As those of you who already knit this know, one major difference between Ishbel and a lot of other triangular shawls is that the decreases are worked such that the width grows much more quickly than the length of the shawl. My armspan is quite long for my height (I’m 5’3, my armspan is something like 5’8 or 5’9), and it’s even wider than that…and yet, the bottom point of the shawl is not too low. It’s a clever design, but that’s hardly surprising, considering the designer!

ishbel front

Here you can get a peek at the shawl pin I’m sending along with the package. It’s from Designs by Romi. I had a different Romi pin when I wore my Icarus while I visited my grandparents, and I figured this turquoise one would be pretty perfect for a shawl headed down to New Mexico. Here’s a closeup:

shawl-pin closeup

Isn’t it pretty? I kind of want one for myself, but I will stick with the shawl pin I already have, for now.

ishbel lace

Such lovely lace. This was quite an enjoyable knit for me. I love the feel of the Silky Wool, and I think it is a fabulous yarn for this pattern; it took just 2 skeins to make a fairly large shawl! I highly recommend this yarn/pattern combination.

11 thoughts on “Finally Finished Object: Ishbel

  1. mick

    I absolutely love this. Normally I pair shawls with lots of stockinette with a semi-solid yarn, but now you have me thinking of a solid color for my next one! It’s so classy and lovely, and the shawl pin is great with it. Your grandma will love it!

  2. Oh how lovely! I like lace knitted in yarns that are heavier than lace-weight, and yours is just perfect. Also, I like the shawl pin. I made my mom a lace shawl for Christmas out of fingering weight shetland, but alas the lovely shawl pin I gave her to wear it with is too heavy and has a tendency to slip out. I think one more like the one you’ve got there would work a little better. Off to check on that now…

  3. The shawl pin looks gorgeous next to it — definitely seems like a great choice! Now I’m thinking about knitting a similar shawl for *my* grandma… hmm..

  4. Ooh, I like this! I’ve been keeping my eye out for a wider than deep shawl, and this may be it. I wonder if there’s enough yardage in my skein of Sundara (500 yards) to do it? Hmmm…

Leave a Reply

