april, already?

Standard

Wow, time flies. I can’t believe it’s already April. I’ve been very busy these last few weeks, and spent last weekend in Davis, CA at a conference. I’m having a heck of a time recovering from the travel, but I’m very glad I went. I feel…I don’t know, intellectually rejuvenated, or something? Anyway, hence the blog silence. I’m hopelessly behind in reading everyone’s posts, and am unlikely to catch up before I give up and hit “Mark All As Read”, so if you’ve done something you’d like me to see, let me know!

I got quite a bit of knitting done on my mom’s scarf while flying back and forth from California, and now have only the last ruffle to finish before it’s done:

mom's scarf

This really is the perfect pattern for plane-knitting: an easily-memorized 4-row repeat across a very manageable number of stitches. And it’s looking so pretty in the leftovers from my Icarus shawl. It should be pretty easy to get this finished up in time to send it up to my mom for her birthday (which is at the very beginning of May).

Speaking of birthdays, mine is coming up quite quickly (it’s the same day as Easter, this year). I already got myself a little present:

an early birthday present

A Chevron Love Mitten Kit! I fell in love with these mittens when I first saw them on Flickr, and when I found out that Julia was going to be making kits for them, I knew I’d have to get one, despite my desire to keep new additions to the stash at a minimum. I also have already received the “Best of Lopi” book (as well as a few other goodies) from my parents for my birthday, and am thoroughly enjoying looking at all of the lovely yoked sweaters it contains.

There’s not been much progress on anything else, really. I’m still working the ribbing on Tangled Yoke (and am still madly in love with garter rib), and swatching for the quilt-swap sweater. And working on a pattern/tutorial for Stripes!.

a stripey day. [365.296]

Yep, you read that right, and it’s no April Fools prank: I’m really going to do it! It’s my most-loved sweater already (seriously, I wear it more often than is at all reasonable), and I know so many of you love it, too, so I want to share it with you all. I’m hoping to have it done by the end of April, because the month of April is Heifer International’s “Pass on the Gift” month, and I’d like to be able to donate some of the proceeds towards that effort. I’m not going to make any promises on this front, but I may be looking for proofreaders, and possibly even a daring test-knitter (anyone have the appropriate yarn on hand already? 2 skeins of Eco Wool + 3 skeins of Noro Kureyon?) in the next week or so. Let me know if you’d be interested.

12 thoughts on “april, already?

  1. Yes, and now, here in Easter Europe, comes 2nd April….. Time flies, realy !

    Very very nice sweater, and it look beautiful on you !

    I don’t know what is Stripes… but, best wishes fot it :)

  2. mai

    omg i’d love to test knit stripes but i don’t have the yarn on hand. let me know if you need help with proofreading, etc. good luck!

  3. Alas, I’ve already got a sweater to test-knit winging its way toward me! Otherwise…

    A conference in Davis, eh? Not the most exciting place in the world (ask me how I know), but inspiration is a very good thing! What conference?

    Happy birthday :)

  4. mick

    Wow, I just bought two skeins of eco-wool yesterday! I’m happy to test-knit, as I’ve already been planning on making this pattern, but I guess it would depend on when you’d want it done by. I’m kind of booked with wedding stuff until the last week of May.

    If you end up needing me, let me know!

  5. barefootrooster

    I have eco-wool and would be willing to acquire the noro (twist my arm) to test-knit. I’ve knit a handful of sweaters, but am by no means a pro yet… let me know if i can help!

  6. Thanks for your notes & support for the Dream Assignment /Heifer idea- I am thrilled that you led me to your blog, I’ve admired your projects on Ravelry (love the stripes).
    I’m on to the next round of judging now, and am in touch with some Heifer folks who arerooting for it too. Fingers crossed, even tho its hard to knit that way.

  7. Oooh, I have been admiring this sweater from afar, and I would like to test knit it. Honestly, it would be my first sweater, but perhaps it would be useful to have a test knitter from that perspective to see if it would be easy enough for newbies to try.

Leave a Reply

