sleeve caps, apples, and autumn

Standard

Last week was so incredibly busy that I didn’t have any opportunity at all to work on my husband’s sweater; the only projects that got any love at all were the small projects I keep at the office (right now, a cowl for someone special, and the hat I’m test knitting), and his sweater is just far too big to cart along with me to work!

So on Saturday, I finally sat down with his sweater, and my copy of Barbara Walker’s “Knitting from the Top”, did a bit of math, and set about working a seamless set-in sleeve from the top down. As of yesterday, I’d successfully completed the sleeve cap:

sleeve progress!

And if you’re on Ravelry, you can see the notes I made to myself while working out the decrease spacing on the project page; the funniest part was discovering that my arms are actually longer than my husband’s! (I’m 5’3, he’s 5’9….I really do have monkey arms!)

At this point I think it would be nearly impossible, given my schedule, to finish the sweater by husband’s birthday (this Saturday), but at least I will be close to the end! I didn’t help things along on the sweater front yesterday, instead thoroughly exhausting myself with a day of apple-picking at Orbaker Farms, where my friends and I were treated to a tour by Mr. Orbaker himself. It was a gorgeously sunny day (which was lovely, but absolutely hell on my skin and energy levels), and we were treated to beautiful views of the autumn colors:

fall colors at the fruit farm

I picked a variety of apples to use in my husband’s birthday apple cake later this week (using a recipe passed down by my great-grandmother that I modified somewhat, which was very popular both with my husband, and everyone at the department, last year), as well as some to eat. When Mr. Orbaker found out I was from MN, “home of the Honeycrisp”, he promised to lead me to the bins where they had already-picked Honeycrisps back at the farmstand, and I got a few of those, too…I think they’re pretty much the best apple for eating ever!

One last thing, before I go back to catching up on work. I started a Donors Choose giving page, as part of their Knitting Bloggers Challenge, earlier this month, but was so busy that I forgot to mention it here on the blog. In any case, their efforts towards helping to fund projects to improve K-12 education is one that is near and dear to my heart, and I want to do what I can to help promote them. I chose a handful a projects from nearby schools, focused on language skills and scientific inquiry, and I’d love it if some of my dear readers could help me fund them. I had grand plans of doing some sort of raffle or something, but I am just not that organized, so here’s the deal: if you email me and tell me that you donated through my giving page, I’ll send you my version of the aforementioned delicious apple cake recipe. Help fund K-12 education, and make delicious apple desserts…what could be better?

I know my blog is not one of the most popular ones out there (and I’m more than ok with that!), so I don’t expect to come anywhere near a lot of the others in the Knitting Blogger Challenge, but I’d still like to see these projects get funded. Here’s my giving page, for those who are interested (I’ll add a link in the sidebar, too): whitknits Donors Choose Giving Page

7 thoughts on “sleeve caps, apples, and autumn

  1. The sweater’s looking great! I’m impressed with your sleeve cap magic.

    Oh, how I miss Minnesota in the fall. Honeycrisps are nice, but Harelson apples are my favorite. They were developed by the U of M back in the 1920s. Great all-purpose apples.

Leave a Reply

