better

Standard

I am feeling slightly less like death-on-a-stick than I was the last time I posted, thanks to spending most of this week in bed. Not the most exciting thing I’ve ever done, but it was worth it for the sake of not getting even sicker. And hey, I did some knitting, while I was at it. Wanna see?

Beech Wood Cowl

Yep, that would be another cowl. Here are the details:

Ravelry Project Page
Pattern: Beech Wood, by Ilga Leja, but cast on 96 sts. instead of 108.
Yarn: Malabrigo Merino Worsted, in “Roanoke”. 1 skein.
Needles: Size 7 Denise circular.
Time to knit: 2 days.

This was a really fun project. The pattern was simple, the yarn was scrumptious, and I really, really love the color…it’s a nice rich auburn sort of color. Sort of the color of my mom’s hair. Is it weird that I love the color of her hair that much? Anyway, the weather was absolutely gorgeous this afternoon, so I went outside to model it:

I made a cowl. [365.16]

Check out that sky…perfectly blue! (Oh, by the way, I’ve started doing the 365 days thing. We’ll see if I can come up with interesting ways of taking self-portraits for an entire year. If nothing else, it’s a good way to learn more about my camera).

There will be another FO making an appearance shortly, since I finally scrubbed the upstairs tub, and was able to wash my Syncopated Ribs. Which means I finally got unlazy about finishing the seaming. Who knows, maybe I’ll get my trip to the beach for a photoshoot with this sweater, after all. Here’s a preview of it drying on the floor (with its fellow made-from-Rowan-Cork sweater, the Sienna Cardigan):

Two sweaters, drying

(dear weather: don’t thunderstorm tomorrow, ok?).

6 thoughts on “better

  1. Elinor

    I love that cowl pattern. I saw one in person a while back and I’ve committed to knitting one for the winter. I’m glad you’re feeling better too!

Leave a Reply

