from scratch

Standard

morning snack

This banana bread has been my mid-morning snack the past few days. I thought other people might like to enjoy it, too, so here is my recipe (invented by me, on the basis of a few other recipes, using my usually-successful “throw stuff in until it looks like the sort of dough it’s supposed to be” method):

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt (or a little more, if you want)
  • 2 tbsp. wheat germ
  • 1 cup mashed bananas (2-3 bananas, depending on size)
  • less than 1 tbsp. citrus juice
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup (or so) miniature semi-sweet chocolate chips -or-
  • a couple handfuls of slivered almonds and raisins -or-
  • whatever the heck you want to put in! The possibilities are endless! (sort of)

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350°.

Then, mash up the bananas with the citrus juice. You don’t want much juice, just enough to moisten the bananas and keep them from turning brown and yucky (hooray, citric acid!). I mash them with my hands…it’s fun! Take off your rings and such, and go at it (I find that punching them with my knuckles works pretty well). Set these aside for now.

Next, cream the butter and sugar. Then add in the egg, mix, and add in the rest of the wet ingredients (bananas, sour cream, vanilla), mix again. Then add in your mixed dry ingredients (the flours, wheat germ, baking soda, and salt), mix well. Fold in whatever added ingredients you want (I’m a chocoholic, so I went for chocolate chips). Pour into a greased 9×5-inch loaf pan, and bake for 50-60 minutes or until you can stick in a toothpick and have it come out clean. Let cool, and then…eat!

Speaking of things-made-from-scratch, I started a small project a couple of days ago:

totally from scratch

Yep, I’ve fallen into the cowl-craze, and decided to make one from my very first batch of colorful handspun yarn. It’s rather chunky and fairly dense, but I think it’ll make for a nice neckwarming device once I’m finished. But before I can finish it, I’m going to have to finish plying up the rest of the singles that I spun, because I’m all out of 2-ply at this point. So I’m not sure when that’s going to happen, since my back is still a bit of a mess.

On that note, I’ve learned that I have a rather bad L5-S1 disc herniation, in addition to scar tissue inflammation (thanks to healing improperly after a spinal tap), putting pressure on the nerves in my spinal column. My doc is optimistic that we can resolve it with physical therapy, but warns that it may be months before I have much less pain. We’re trying to do anything we can to avoid surgery, because I have a tendency to heal poorly and over-scar, which is part of what led to the problems in the first place! So anyway, this has put a hamper in my spinning, and also in my gardening, because neither thing is very comfortable to do. C’est la vie, but boy do I wish la vie would get a little less painful one of these days.

5 thoughts on “from scratch

  1. mick

    Thanks for the recipe! I’ll have to try that out; I’ve had bananas for banana bread in my freezer for months.

    Yay for first handspun knits! And here’s hoping you feel better sooner rather than later.

  2. thanks for sharing the recipe. YUM! sorry to hear about your back. i can’t imagine how painful and frustrating it must be. i hope you feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

