earthy sweaters

Standard

This particular period of Project Spectrum is so up my alley. I’m an earth-tones sort of girl, I’ve been an environmentalist since before I even knew the word, and now I’ve even got a garden where I can literally play in the dirt. There’s no way on earth I could knit all of the potential EARTH-themed projects I’ve got in my queue before June comes around, but that’s not going to stop me from trying!

First, here’s a little progress shot of Syncopated Ribs (you know, the sweater that got almost halfway knit without me ever blogging it!):

it looks a bit strange

It looks a bit strange on the needles, because the construction is such that you cast on for the sleeves while you’re knitting up the front and knit right over the top of the sweater and back down to the bottom. So now I have this strange, scarecrow-esque thing on the needles, but I promise it will look like a sweater in the end! I’m really going to miss knitting with the Cork once I’m done…but there are plenty of other delightful yarns in this world.

And well, you know me, I can’t ever just keep things simple. And apparently I couldn’t live without something brown on the needles, because shortly after finishing the Sienna Cardigan, I cast on for another brown cardigan sweater:

brown and tweedy

The yarn is Classic Elite Skye Tweed, which I picked up in an exchange on Ravelry. The pattern is the “Tweedy Aran Cardigan” from the Winter 2001/2002 IK (also available as a download from the KnittingDaily store, which is how I have it…I wasn’t an IK subscriber back then!). Y’all, I’m in love. The yarn has a nice wooly feel to it, and I’m just infatuated with the tweedy, heathery look of it. This is going to be a fun, fun knit.

But just in case that’s not enough, I have one more earth-themed project that just might make it on the needles during the proper period of Project Spectrum:

green

Yeah, I know, that’s just a pile of yarn. But I’m planning to turn it into a Cardigan for Arwen (but really for me!). I’ve had both the yarn and the pattern in my queue of upcoming projects for quite some time now, but when a knitting friend of mine emailed me to ask a question about the pattern because she really wanted to knit one for herself, I decided it might be fun to do a little two-person knitalong for it. I’m not sure when we’ll be starting, but maybe I can finish up Syncopated Ribs first.

I’m actually supposed to be in Ithaca today. I was planning to go to a conference (just as an attendee, not as a presenter) this weekend, but the back inflammation and nerve issues made me decide that it was going to be a lot more trouble than it was worth. I’m disappointed, because I feel like I’ve had to back out of so many things I’ve wanted to do in the past year because of health problems, but it would just be too much. I’m still having tons of problems with my back and left leg, but I had an MRI a couple of days ago and started physical therapy yesterday, so I’m optimistic we’ll get it taken care of eventually. The upshot of all this is that I’ll actually be at home for my birthday tomorrow, which I certainly don’t mind!

10 thoughts on “earthy sweaters

  1. Oh, happy birthday tomorrow! There’s nothing like a nice crop of lovely projects to work on, on your birthday. I hope you’re feeling well enough to knit and knit and knit.

  2. mick

    I understand falling in love with the brown yarn. It’s so deliciously tweedy; I’ll have to check it out when I eventually break my yarn diet. Glad to hear you’re on the upswing, and have a fantastic birthday!

  3. Gramma Phyl

    Happy Birthday! Sorry the weather took a temporary turn back toward winter, but they promise that the rest of the week will be increasingly spring like. Love your choices of both yarn and patterns. Greens and brown always draw me in when I’m in my favorite LYS.

Leave a Reply

