borrowed blogfodder, and day-making

Standard

Since I have no knitting photos of my own to show off, how about another collage of recent favorites from flickr?

More recent favorites
(please click the picture to get a list of photo attributions!)

Good stuff, there. One thing that might be a little obvious from that collection is that I’m starting to get seriously interested in handspun yarn, which is to say, I’d quite like to learn how to spin. Any tips/suggestions for a newbie who doesn’t want to invest too much in something she’s not sure she’ll take to?

Sorry about sort of dropping off the face of blogland for a bit there…it’s just a matter of not having a ton of bloggable projects going right now (I’m pretty much exclusively focused on the shawl for the moment, and it is going to be a big lacy lump from now until I finish and block it, I’m afraid), a new semester starting, and being seriously under the weather. It’s nothing huge, just the normal cold/sinus issues that everyone gets this time of the year, but given my other health problems, a minor thing like that can really take me out, and I am extremely weak and exhausted right now. C’est la vie.

I didn’t want to hold off on blogging too much longer, though, because I got this award:

You+make+my+day+award.jpg

from two bloggers who definitely make my day: Mick (sorry, Mick, for some reason the link disappeared the first time I posted!) and Carla (whose handspun is in no small part responsible for my recent intense desire to learn to spin), and I wanted to make sure I acknowledged it and thanked them.

As part of receiving the award, I am supposed to name 10 other bloggers who make my day, and tell them to do the same. I am generally opposed to the tagging aspect of memes just on principle (or something like that!), but I do want to highlight some of the bloggers who make my day (they are by no means obligated to do the same!). This is of course only a small sampling…I read a lot of blogs, both crafty and otherwise, and I love so very many of them, but below are 10 crafty blogs that currently make me smile when I see a new post in my Google Reader:

1. Hello Yarn. Basically, every single thing Adrian has cast-on for, I want to make. She’s such an inspiration for me, and her blog is actually the first knitting blog I ever read regularly, starting several years ago (though I was nothing but a silent, blogless lurker at the time). I have a huge blog-crush on her, basically.

2. Mustaa Villaa. I first found Terhi via flickr, and am always just so inspired by the projects she shows off in her photos….brilliant colors and patterns! I really love all of the socks she knits. And of course, I definitely enjoy the fact that she sometimes posts in both Finnish and English, because it gives me a chance to play around with figuring out bits and pieces of Finnish. Whee, language!

3. The Knitting Philistine. Megan is another knitter I first discovered via flickr. I absolutely love her fiberlicious photography, and have been enjoying watching her produce some very gorgeous socks (both single and paired!)…so inspiring! Everybody think good thoughts for her right now, she’s in the midst of prelims!

4. Lolly Knitting Around. So, I think I’ve mentioned here before that I have a bit of a blog-crush on Lolly. Her posts are always so thoughtful, the photography is gorgeous, and really, who wouldn’t be inspired by the creator of Project Spectrum?

5. tiennie knits. Wow, Tiennie is just amazing. Such amazing projects, and such amazing photography, and of course, such a kind personality to go along with it. I’m very happy to have found her blog!

6. On and Off the Needles. I hunted down Stacey’s blog after seeing her Turkish Stockings (in a picture on someone else’s blog after one of the big fiber festivals)…I had to find out more about the person who made those amazing socks! And I found a really wonderful person who knits amazing colorwork socks, and plenty of other fabulous things, and who I enjoy emailing back and forth with about the joys of yoked sweaters and other such things. Yay!

7. Blue Garter. Sarah’s is another blog I’ve been reading for quite a long time, mostly as a quiet lurker until relatively recently. I love her writing style, her photography, the projects she chooses, and of course, I share her love for the wonderfulness that is Elizabeth Zimmermann.

8. Saartje Knits. Saartje doesn’t post incredibly often, but I’m always inspired by something in every post! I’m especially drawn to her traditional mittens and gloves, but really, everything she knits is fantastic. And she has one of the cutest babies I have ever seen, too!

9. b r o o k l y n t w e e d. Oh, I know, Jared’s probably on a whole heck of a lot of these lists! But what can I say…the photography is amazing, he’s knit such wonderful projects (especially his EZ-inspired projects!), his handspun is gorgeous, and his designs are spectacular! It’s always a joy to see a new post from him.

10. Kathryn Ivy. I love this blog! I love all of the colorful projects (the handdyed Chevron Scarf was amazing!), and the adorable toys are just fantastic. I’m always eager to see what they’re going to be showing when I see a new post in my feed reader.

Would you believe it took me two days to finish this post? That’s what having no energy will do to ya. Anyway, thanks, all of you (not just the 10 I mentioned!), for making my day, so many days. I never imagined, when I started this little blog a year and a half ago, that I’d actually have, you know, readers, and that I’d make new knitterly friends through it, but here I am. It’s fantastic.

10 thoughts on “borrowed blogfodder, and day-making

  1. I gotta say I’m all for the spinning! Start out with a drop spindle (around 1 oz would be good, IMO, and my Goldings are my favorites) and some medium-fine wool (Blue Faced Leicester, Corriedale, Falkland and the like (basically any wool that’s not merino) — you want something with a staple length of at least 3″), and don’t be discouraged if you drop the spindle and it all looks like crap at first. Spindle-spinning is harder than wheel spinning, but it’s cheaper to get into and you’ll be able to tell if you want to drop the cash for a wheel. The Spindlers group on Ravelry is a good resource.

    Yay, spinning!

  2. Gramma Phyl

    I too am intrigued by spinning, but doubt I will ever do it myself. And speaking as GRAMMA, take care of yourself this week Whit. The weatherman says it will be brutal Wednesday and Friday. You know just how harsh the wind can get blowing in from the west off the river. Reading your blog makes my day and the mother takes over and worries about you.

  3. Whit, thank you so much – you are so sweet! I have really enjoyed getting to know you and your projects both here and on Flickr. Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. awww, thanks!!!! :) yoked sweater bud!

    for the spinning, my sister tried spindle spinning first, then borrowed a wheel to see if she liked it. She didn’t want to invest either! maybe spindle until the MD festival, then go test out some wheels there if you can go?

  5. Thanks so much, Whitney! I had no idea anyone had a blog crush on me. :)

    I’ve been trying to write one of these posts for a few days, too. I’m still not done.

  6. Sylvia

    Hi! I happened to stumble onto your blog while googling Katia Jamaica…then I noticed you were trying to reduce your stash!! If you are still interested in selling the Jamaica, I’d love to buy it from you!

    P.S. Great photos! I’ll definitely have to check out the other blogs you recommend!

Leave a Reply

