this post has nothing to do with knitting

Standard

Any fellow violinists out there? I’m attempting to restring my violin, since it’s been ages since I’ve done so, and all of my strings have gone false, and I’d like to be able to not sound like crap while I practice in preparation for playing at my brother’s wedding. The thing is…I just can’t seem to get the, um…well, if I say which string it is, I’ll get all sorts of interesting google hits…it’s the lowest one, we’ll leave it at that. Here is where it is supposed to go:

violin restringing woes

I only have a fine-tuner on my E-string, so the rest of my strings have ball-ends (the wrapping goes around a metal ring at the end):

new string

The wrapping at the end of these new strings is thicker than the wrapping on the old strings, and while I got the A-string to pop into place, I’m failing with this one:

owwww

The process is absolutely killing my hands, because my joints have been pretty achy recently. As soon as I stop pressing against the ball end to hold it in place, it snaps out, stinging whatever part of me it happens to come into contact with in the process. Fun!

Any tips? Back in the day, I would’ve brought it into my teacher, and had her take care of it for me, but now that I’m all grown up (and live halfway across the country from her), that’s not an option. Bah.

7 thoughts on “this post has nothing to do with knitting

  1. Sorry, I got nothin’ except wishes for good luck in getting this sorted out. That, and thanks for making me laugh with the part about not mentioning which string is the problem. :)

  2. Gramma Phyl

    Really now, you are at U of R and forgot that the Eastman school is just down the street. They have a community division that would most likely be able to help. Or call the Hochstein School. After all Rochester is known for its music scene.

  3. vlnjodie

    Usually I take a wee set of pliers and simply squeeze the section that would fit into the tail piece. That usually makes it small enough to fit in place. Really make sure the A string is in there good. You don’t want it coming undone while you are playing the wedding.

    If you feel uncomfortable doing it, taking it to a shop is a good idea. They usually (and should) do this sort of thing free of charge.

Leave a Reply

