I have been so spoiled!

Standard

I’ve got a post in the works on my Bohus Yoke progress, but that will have to wait a little while, thanks to a certain something that came in the mail as I was taking pictures of the sweater. So, remember that Tabi sock that I knit for a friend, and sent away with extra yarn so that she could knit its partner? Well, I had someone knitting for me, too, and today I found out just who it was (that would be Laura, of Affiknity!). And she has totally spoiled me:

Single Sock Swap package!

This really couldn’t have come at a better time to cheer me up after a rough past couple of weeks on the health front. Inside was my single sock (the pattern is “Rosamond Socks”), and the yarn (Yarn Nerd 900MHz, which I’ve wanted to try for a long time but is always sold out whenever I look!) to knit its partner, along with a beautiful Lantern Moon project bag with a pair of stitch markers pinned to it, a spiffy notebook from the Rock ‘n Roll Hall of Fame (rock!), a skein of Cherry Tree Hill Supersock in very me-colors, as well as a skein of Tofutsies and a couple sample packs of SOAK (see, I really have been so spoiled with this swap!). I hope I didn’t leave anything out!

Even the boys got in on the swap excitement:

Even the boys got something out of the swap

(yes, I store my yarn under the bed.) They absolutely love boxes, and were actually sort of aggressive about following me around until I opened it and gave them their prize.

Oh, I bet y’all want to see pictures of the sock itself, eh? Here it is without my foot in it. It’s beautiful. This is the first time I’ve ever received something handknit by someone else, just for me, and it just really tickles me, how wonderful it is:

The sock whose partner I shall knit

And look, it fits!

It fits!

My comfy fleece pants are artfully arranged so as not to cover any of the sock, but also not to reveal the fact that I’ve not shaved in over a month (which, of course, I then go and announce here on the blog, so why did I even bother?!). Hey, it’s winter! Also starring in that photo is our comfy new IKEA chair. But back to the topic at hand: the sock fits, and I love it, and I’m so so thankful to Laura for making such a beautiful sock and sending all of those goodies along with it!

4 thoughts on “I have been so spoiled!

  1. I do that with well placed pant legs all the time :)

    You got an awesome package! The sock is beautiful.

    I love it that your cats are aggressive about getting the box from you. So cute!

  2. Yay! I am so glad that you like everything, and it looks as though the sock fits great! Woot (Which I recently read was chosen by Merriam-Webster as the word of the year)!

    I am so glad that I found you and your blog through this swap and that I can finally comment non-anonymously. I have been watching the progress of your Bohus very intently and now I am DYING to start a similar yoke sweater!

Leave a Reply

