Escheresque Mittens: Conception

Standard

Dad's mittens, inspiration and materials

Y’all probably remember my musings about creating an M. C. Escher- inspired piece of knitwear for my dad. What you see above is the print I settled on as my inspiration, and the yarns I chose in order to turn it into a pair of mittens for my dad. The print is the one that was on a puzzle that my dad kept in his office, and I’ve always loved it. I’m quite proud of having found what I think are the most perfect colors to evoke this print. I’m working on sketching out translations of the print into a chart, but am waiting on my dad to send me a trace of his hand so that I have a better idea of what size I’m shooting for. My plan is to use the mostly-solid brown for the boats, and the variegated yarn for the fish (the colors are a dead-on match, I wish I could show y’all in person!).

That’s all I’ve got for now; I just wanted to document the conception of this project. I’m aiming for Christmas (yeah, it’s a long way away, but I’m being realistic given health stuff and all!) as a finish-date. Hopefully I’ll be a little early :).

I’ve been doing a craptacular job of keeping up with everyone’s posts and with the comments here. I’m sorry! I’m just feeling so awful and tired and haven’t been able to keep up with anything, really. I really, truly appreciate all of the well-wishes that have been sent regarding my health. I’m just hanging in there until I can get back in for another appointment (they like to make you wait over 2 weeks between every single thing, which is highly annoying when you’ve been sick since February!), so there’s not much I can do for now other than just rest. So that’s what I’m going to do.

5 thoughts on “Escheresque Mittens: Conception

Leave a Reply

