new house, new month, new project(s)

Standard

For anyone who would like to see our house, I’ve put some photos up on flickr. There’s obviously still a lot of unpacking to be done! But I haven’t been feeling particularly up to doing much of it, so it will probably be quite awhile before we are truly settled in.

So, it’s a new month. And with that new month comes a new trio of colors for Project Spectrum. And this time, I’ve already got a color-appropriate project ready to go, and might actually finish before the end of September! (You may remember that I started several projects back in February which still aren’t finished even now!). What project would this be?

Sienna Cardigan begins!

The Sienna Cardigan, from the Fall 2006 Interweave Knits. I’m knitting it using a bag of brown Rowan Cork that I picked up on sale, back when it was discontinued, and I think it’s making a very nice substitute for the Blue Sky Alpacas Worsted that’s called for in the pattern. I really like the way the Cork feels when knit up. It’s hard to describe…it’s almost like a well-worn sweatshirt or something, but that doesn’t sound as complimentary as it should. In any case, it’s a nice easy pattern for me to knit while I’m trying to get lots of rest, and it should be a very useful cardigan to add to my wardrobe once it’s finished. I just started it yesterday (yeah, I cheated and started a day early!), and I’m actually even further along than that picture shows…I’ve used up the first ball of yarn now, and have about 10 inches knit of the back. It seems like quite a fast knit, so far.

But that’s not the only project on the docket. Well actually, that’s probably obvious; if you’ve been following along for awhile, you know I have quite a number of projects that aren’t quite finished yet, for various reasons. But anyway, there is another project that is likely going to be hogging the show for awhile. It’s a very special project, and I’m using very special yarn:

Yarn for Jenny's wedding shawl

Undyed Shaefer Trenna, a laceweight silk/merino blend. It’s absolutely lovely. And I’m going to be using it to knit the Shetland Garden Faroese Shawl for my soon-to-be sister-in-law. That’s right, my baby brother’s getting married! (It’s a bit silly to call him my baby brother, really…he’s just barely over one year younger than me is all, we could practically be twins. But I’ll call him that anyway, just to annoy him!). While I’ve knit and swatched some smaller lace projects before, this will be my first big lace project. And I can’t think of a better person to be knitting it for. I’m just so, so happy for them, and I wanted to be able to give them something very special, and I think this will do quite nicely. I’m going to spend a bit of time studying the pattern before I cast on so that I don’t make any silly mistakes (at least, that works in theory!), even though I’m oh-so-eager to ball up that beautiful laceweight yarn and just take off.

Thanks for all of the well-wishes regarding our move and my health, they are all very much appreciated!

4 thoughts on “new house, new month, new project(s)

  1. Congratulations on finishing your gansey!

    I can SO relate to your moving. We’ve been in our new house 2 1/2 weeks and are still not unpacked. The boxes drive me crazy. :) We also had to paint our living room before we could unpack the 27 boxes of books.

    Your new house is so pretty — it has a lot of charm and you are going to have fun decorating it! If I can help with identifying flowers, let me know. It looks like you have lilies and roses. :) I smiled at your shot of the cat carriers in the bathroom. My two had the same experience. :)

Leave a Reply

