le Tour de Gansey: Stage Eight

Standard

I’m going ahead and posting this fairly early, even though it’s the second-to-last stage, because the next few days are going to be so crazy busy with moving that I may well not have a chance to post again before Monday. Having a hard time keeping the spirits up…I’m so unbelievably tired. Just so tired, I don’t even have words for it. And now I’m sad about the stuff that’s been going on with the actual Tour, especially with Rasmussen, who I’ve always had a lot of respect for. And I know, probably, if he’s been misleading his team about his whereabouts, he’s most likely been up to no good…but I also know, from back when I was very immersed in competitive running (not that I was turning in races that warranted drug screening, mind you, I was just a solid “age-grouper”), the elite athletes basically have no privacy whatsoever; they’ve got to report, often right down to the hour, where they’re going to be, so that they can be tested out-of-competition. And I can see how that would get really old, even if you’ve got nothing to hide. But anyway, it’s just a real downer. And then there’s the sadness, always there, about what’s going on here in the US, with the current administration doing its best to lie, abuse their power, subvert the Constitution, and otherwise destroy this country from within. It just feels like everything has gotten so ugly recently.  But enough moping. On with our coverage of le Tour de Gansey, part of the Tour de France Knitalong, presenting:

Stage Eight: Finishing the Neckline

We begin Stage Eight back at the top of the wee gansey, where we have stitches being held for the front and back, as well as the provisionally cast-on stitches from the tops of the shoulder straps:

Stage Eight

We pick all these stitches up and knit around and around. At the same time, on either side of the neck, we do paired decreases to create a “neck gusset” to shape what would otherwise be a very boxy neckline:

Stage Eight

(Sorry for the blurriness…it’s just been awfully dreary here lately). We close each gusset with a double-decrease, and end the neck finishing with a few rounds in garter-stitch before binding off:

Stage Eight

And with that, we’re almost done…just the ends to weave in, and perhaps a bath to let the stitches bloom. But for that, you’ll have to come back…I can’t promise I’ll have my final post up on the final day of the actual Tour because of moving, but at the very least, I’ll have it the day after!

2 thoughts on “le Tour de Gansey: Stage Eight

  1. The wee gansey is so cute – now it needs a stuffed bear or cat or somebody to model it! I really admire Beth Brown-Reisel – wouldn’t you know she’s teaching at the yarn store where I work on a weekend when I have to be on the other side of the country? :( Thanks for your compliments on Brigitte, and I’m crossing my fingers that the move has been going smoothly! I’m also really hoping you can get to the bottom of your health troubles soon and start mending. Take good care.

Leave a Reply

