I think I might have a sock problem.

Standard

Golden Dragon leg!

In the past couple of days, I’ve cast on for two different socks. If you’ve been paying attention, you’ll realize that this brings the number of unrelated socks that are simultaneously in progress on my needles to four. I can’t help myself! I don’t feel up to do much of anything beyond knitting little things like socks, so I guess it’s not so bad. At least I’m not alone, what with everyone socking away with me during Summer of Socks 2007.

First, how about a progress report on the older socks-in-progress? Here are a pair of artsy-fartsy shots for y’all:

Artsy-fartsy sock picture

Both socks are at a similar point…past the heel, and into the foot. The Golden Dragon Socks mark my first foray into the short-row heel, which, despite my initial confusion and doubts about the instructions (cribbed from multiple sources, since unlike apparently every other knitter in the world, I do not own a copy of PGR’s “Simple Socks, Plain and Fancy”), did actually turn into a heel in the end. And it does fit, too:

Golden Dragon Sock has a heel!

(blurry, because I finished it in the evening and the lighting was terrible). I’ve got to admit, though, that I’m still a heel-flap devotee. I understand why the short-row heel makes sense for this particular pattern, but I’m not a big fan of the heel itself, so far. The heel-flap style feels sturdier to me, and seems easier to adapt to accommodate my rather high instep. But I’m glad I’ve at least given the short-row heel a try.

Now for the newly cast-on socks. A few days ago, I decided to go ahead and start Giotto, because I was so drawn to the pretty edging, and the yarn that I wanted to use for it (sKNITches Kettle-Drum semi-solid in “Aegean”, which, by the way, is silky-smooth and wonderful). Here’s how far I made it:

Giotto begins

Pretty, no? But oh, so painful. The picot-edging and the eyelet rows were fine, but then I got to the main pattern of the sock, and…well, I just don’t think I can do it. The “twist 3” row absolutely killed my hands. I’ve never encountered a knitting instruction so painful to execute. I’m sure that my current bout with as-yet-undiagnosed illness is not helping, as one of the things I’ve been dealing with as part of it is lots of aches and pains and weakness. I love the way the finished sock looks, but I really don’t think I can knit it as directed right now. So I’ve stopped after that painful row to reconsider. The thing I love the most about Giotto is the edging and eyelet business up top, so I might look to see whether I can find a stitch pattern that is suitably pretty for the rest of the sock, but not so hard on my hands to execute. Or I could always convert the rest of the sock to plain stockinette, but that sort of defeats the purpose, as my purpose was to use this mostly-solid yarn to knit a patterned sock that wouldn’t work with variegated yarns. I’m open to suggestions…what do y’all think I should do?

While I think about what to do for Giotto, I decided to start yet another sock. I’ve been wanting to knit a stranded-colorwork style sock for quite awhile now, and finally cast-on for the Norwegian Stockings (from Nancy Bush’s “Folk Socks”) that I’ve been salivating over ever since I saw Eunny’s pair (and yes, I stole her colors, because they are such “me” colors!). The colorwork is much easier on my hands than the twists in Giotto, happily, and I’ve already made it into the main calf-patterning:

Beginning of Norwegian Stocking

Being the paranoid person that I am, I decided not to go any further before I checked to see whether this truly did fit my calf. And it does! See?

Norwegian Stocking, on my calf

The Baby Ull is so squishy soft, and the strands running along the inside of the sock just make it even squishier and softer. These are going to be some fantastic socks.

Well, that’s what I’ve been up to. Just making socks while I wait to start feeling better. The CT scan revealed that the kidney issues are not as bad as they first appeared, which is good news. The, ahem, “other” procedure revealed absolutely nothing. It is very frustrating to not know what is wrong, only that your body just isn’t working and has only been getting worse. Thank goodness for knitting, it keeps me sane.

5 thoughts on “I think I might have a sock problem.

  1. Quite a collection you’ve got going on here… Too bad about the Giotto–that is a lovely yarn–maybe a simple lace pattern like the Go With the Flow socks Anna mentions in the Giotto post. Have you got that old IK?

  2. g33kgrrl

    I second the request for the dragon pattern! Where’d you get it? I need a new project and I really like the look of that…

Leave a Reply

