doing my best to keep things going

Standard

As could probably be surmised from my 10-day hiatus, I’m still not doing so well on the health front. In fact, I’ve been feeling worse since I made my last post (and never did get to take that walk to the knitting shop, alas). Add to that finishing up my paper, and a visit from my brother and his fiancee (they just got engaged, and I couldn’t be more thrilled for them!), and, well, I’m pretty wiped out. I don’t feel too great. I feel awful, in fact. Just typing up this post is wearing me out, to be honest. But I have managed to make a little bit of knitting progress, and have taken a few pictures in the past week and a half that I felt like sharing, so just for all y’all, dear readers, I’m putting together this post.

First off, we have Demi. Because I’ve started the new skein of Fisherman’s Wool, it no longer can be stuffed into my purse to come with me to doctor’s visits, but it has still been getting a little bit of love here at home. I’m now partway through the armhole shaping:

Progress on Demi

I still can’t get enough of these twisted stitches and cables. This is going to be one fantastic sweater, if I can ever muster up the energy to finish it.

I haven’t made a ton of progress on anything else. The Golden Dragon socks have stalled, mostly because I don’t yet have the stitch pattern memorized and don’t want to shove my pattern into my purse, and thus haven’t been bringing it along with me to doctor’s visits, either. Not-So-Aprikot remains sleeveless until I feel up to knitting with the cotton again. There will be no more miters until then, either. I have started a plain stockinette sock in the pink and green Vesper sock yarn that I showed a picture of last month, but it’s not very far along and hasn’t had its first picture taken yet.

What I do have pictures of, though, is yarn. Remember how I said I was going to let myself make one “frivolous” purchase with the extra money I made by grading this summer before putting the rest into savings? Well, that purchase has been made. Here are the lovely treats:

Pretty pretty yarn

Some delicious Socks that Rock Mediumweight, in Jade, Obsidian, Watermelon Tourmaline, and Farmhouse.

Jade and Obsidian

The first two are intended for a Syncopated Cap for me, because I think really dark brown and that shade of green are very flattering colors on me, I really like the pattern, and I could use a slightly lighter-weight hat for those days when it’s not quite cold enough for my double-thick worsted-weight wool hat.

Watermelon Tourmaline and Farmhouse

The second two are intended for a Chevron Scarf, which I think will make for a very nice “roll up and stuff in the purse” project to take with me to doctor’s appointments and the like, provided I can find myself a set of not-too-long size 5 straight needles to knit it with (my current collection contains 6’s, 8’s and 10.5’s, but no 5’s. In fact, those needles were my primary reason for wanting to take that walk to the knitting shop the last time I posted, because I feel silly ordering and paying shipping on a single set of needles, but I just might have to if I don’t feel up to getting out to the LYS).

Well, that’s all I’ve got. Here’s hoping things turn around soon, and that I feel up to doing more than a few minutes of knitting every day.

4 thoughts on “doing my best to keep things going

  1. I hope you are feeling better. I think I am coming down with something, never any fun. I think that Demi is so very impressive. I think all those twists and turns would drive me nutty!

  2. Oh, Whitney, I’m so sorry you’re not feling better. Your Demi is lovely though, and I love your new projects. That’s going to be a great hat!

Leave a Reply

