nearing the end

Standard

As I mentioned in my last post, we’re nearing the end of the semester here, which means that in less than a week, I will have completed the first year of my Ph.D. Wow, that sounds weird! I feel sort of old…I can remember when my dad was working on his Ph.D, and now here I am working on mine! If it weren’t for the health problems I’m still dealing with (yes, if you’ve been reading along all this time, I really have been sick since February and still don’t really have any good answers from my docs), this end-of-semester would be relatively low-key; I’ve only got one paper left to finish, and then I’m done, coursework-wise. It’s due Wednesday, and I’m already 1/3 done, so I’m feeling pretty good about it, so long as I can find the energy to finish it up.

Anyway, I mostly just wanted to show off what I’ve been able to accomplish on Demi this week whilst waiting in doctor’s offices and the like. I’m already into the 3rd repeat of the center pattern!

Progress on Front of Demi

I’m still in love with the pattern and just everything in general about this sweater. I’ve shifted over to Demi, instead of continuing on Not-So-Aprikot, because despite the fact that Not-So-Aprikot would be a more seasonal knit, the cotton is heavier and harder on my hands than the wool, and I’m trying not to push myself more than I should given the craptastic current state of my physical health. I’m really liking the wool I’m using for Demi, Lion Brand Fisherman’s Wool. It has some crazy excellent yardage, and it’s sturdy but light, with a good amount of lanolin still in it. To demonstrate what I mean by “crazy excellent yardage”, here is what is still left of my first skein after knitting the entire back and what’s shown above of the front:

What remains of skein #1

I bet I will make it to at least the armhole shaping before I need to bust into skein #2!

That’s pretty much all I’ve been knitting lately. I’m knitting it on my Denise circulars, so it squishes into my purse really nicely and comes along with me to all of my appointments…but it leaves no room to carry my usual sock along. So poor Golden Dragon has to wait its turn now.

Well, today I will be writing and writing on that one last paper. If I’m good, I’m going to treat myself to a walk with my husband downtown to my favorite knitting shop later today. It’s a long walk, but the weather is gorgeous, and everything is blooming, and I think a bit of sunshine and some yarn petting would make for a very nice break from the monotony of paper writing. I also have the new Summer Interweave to look through when I need a break. It arrived in my mailbox yesterday, and I’ve already added several of the projects therein to my collection of photos of “Future Projects and Inspirations” on flickr. Oh, so many temptations…but I must be good and finish my paper before I can let myself daydream too much about knitterly things!

Wish me luck!

One thought on “nearing the end

  1. knitting-cat

    WOW, i am impressed that you can knit like that at the doctor’s office. I have to bring straight knitting because I can not keep track of where I am.

    I hope you enjoyed your walk, it is a beautiful day.

Leave a Reply

