look, mom!

Standard

I started your sweater! Back when I was first knitting Rogue, almost a year ago at this point, I took it up with me to MN when I went home for a holiday visit. She really liked the pattern, and I told her I’d knit her one, as long as she bought the yarn. I soon found a really soft (she thought my Bartlett yarn was a bit scratchy) yarn, Laines du Nord’s Dolly Maxi, on sale at Elann no less! So she bought it, and I’ve had it sitting around for a very long time now, nagging at me to knit it into a sweater for meine Mutti. One of the main reasons I was in such a rush to finish my own Rogue (aside from the fact that I wanted to, you know, wear it) was that I needed to clear it off the needles to start mom’s version. I cast on last night, making it through the point where I knit in the hem facing, and even started the pouch! Here’s a picture of what I’ve done so far:

Beginning of Mom's Rogue

And just for good measure, here’s a shot of the side cable:

Side cable on Mom's Rogue

I’m slightly worried about running out of yarn, but I think I’ll be ok. I really am loving knitting in the round again after the marathon of flat stockinette for the sleeves of my own Rogue.

This morning I started yet another knit. I’ve had some red merino tape yarn hanging out in my stash for ages that I knew I’d never use to knit anything for myself (bright red on a pale strawberry blond is just not a good combo). I first heard about the Orphan Foundation of America’s Red Scarf Project through Norma‘s blog last year, but didn’t have any time at all to knit a scarf. This year, I do, and I’m determined to turn all of this yarn into scarves for the program. If any of you dear readers (yep, all 6 of you!) are interested in doing so, as well, please do! There’s even a knitalong for it:

Red Scarf Project Button

Here’s the beginning of my contribution, a brioche-stitch (my favorite for plain scarves!) scarf knit over 15 stitches on size 10.5 needles in Schoeller Esslinger’s Sascha yarn:

Red Scarf, beginning

The yarn doesn’t yield the best stitch definition, but the brioche combined with the tape yarn makes the softest, squishiest scarf you can imagine.

One thought on “look, mom!

Leave a Reply

