the sock has a heel! (and then some)

Standard

I had hoped to write this post yesterday, but WordPress seemed to be down every time I tried. Bad WordPress! In any case, I just wanted to note futher progress on the sock, which now has a heel and completed gusset (and is actually a bit further along that it is even in that picture, since that picture was taken yesterday morning and I knit a bit more last night while Andrew cooked dinner). See?

Candy Corn Sock has a heel!

 

 I did most of this Friday night during Dr. Who, which is back!  I’m very happy about this.  SciFi aired the Christmas Invasion, followed by the first episode of Season  Two on Friday night, so we got lots of Dr. Who-ish goodness.  I’ve missed it.  I really love the show, the whole message of respect for and love of life in all its forms, the humanist themes, the sort of “platonic love” relationship between the Doctor and his companion…great stuff.  Y’all should watch it.  I have to admit, I never saw the older series before SciFi started airing the new one last year, so my view of the show is probably a bit different than people who have been longtime fans, but I heartily recommend it nonetheless.

Oh, and this week there was finally a new episode of my other TV obsession, Project Runway, and they’re changing it up and sending all four of them to show at Fashion Week!  I have to admit, I was actually kind of hoping that my beloved Michael, who has been one of my favorites to win since the beginning (alongside Alison, who didn’t last nearly long enough, alas), would be sent home.  Since the whole Olympus Fashion Week happened over a week ago, we’ve already seen pictures from all four designer’s shows, and I was really, really hoping that he was the “decoy”, because he clothes looked a little, well, “trashy”.  “Streetwalker-esque”, perhaps.  As did his design for the final challenge, so I really hoped they’d cut him and I could be spared watching my guy get torn apart for his Fashion Week collection.  Ah well, t’was not to be.  I’m still excited to see what happens in the finale.  From having seen pictures from the final shows, I really have no idea what will happen…I like all three of the remaining non-Michael designer’s collections, for different reasons.

All the Project Runway watching makes me want to bust out the sewing machine.  I was given a sewing machine as a wedding present (a year and a half ago) by several of my mom’s former coworkers, and have yet to use it.  It scares me, in a way that knitting distinctly does not.  I would love to be able to sew my own clothing, or to make things for around the house, but I have this strange fear that the sewing machine will get tangled up and break if I look at it funny.  It doesn’t help that the needles involved in sewing are far sharper than those involved in knitting, and if you know me, you know I have “a thing” about sharp objects, in which class I also include bees and wasps, much to the amusement of my friends (but dude, they’ve got stingers!).  So yes, I have sewing-machine issues.  What I really want is to have someone teach me how to use it, but I’m not sure how I’d even go about finding someone to do that.  Perhaps if there were a really good book on sewing, I could manage to teach myself, but I don’t know what that book would be.  Suggestions?

Well, that’s all for now.  I have Statistics homework to be doing, a programming assignment for my Natural Language Understanding class to be starting, and papers for my Cognition class to be reading.  And then at 4 today, all of the knitterly people in the department are getting together for a Stitch ‘n Bitch at a local coffeeshop, which I’m quite excited about.  I may well post again later today, though, since I already had a post for today brewing about other knitalong-type-things I’ve either joined or plan to join this fall, and about my self-imposed stash-bust.

2 thoughts on “the sock has a heel! (and then some)

Leave a Reply

