Finished Object (Jaywalker Socks)

Standard

I finished my Jaywalker socks at work yesterday, and finally was able to get a picture of them this evening. They’re my second finished object of ’06:

Jaywalkers!

Stats
Pattern: Jaywalker Sock, by Grumperina
Yarn: Blue Moon Fiber Arts “Socks that Rock”, colorway “Fire on the Mountain”
Needles: Size 1 Clover Bamboo dpns

Modifications: I knit only 20 repeats of the zigzag pattern before starting the heel flap, and I made one of the socks a bit shorter than the other so that it would fit my smaller foot (my feet are over one whole shoe size different in length).


Jaywalkers and my different-sized feet
The kitchener stitch on the toes went much better this time (I used the instructions here, which were very easy to follow, I thought). You can’t really tell in this photo, but the smaller sock’s toes are much prettier. Maybe I’ll take a closeup sometime. Look how different my feet are in size! I was holding my heels together for that photo, so what you see is the difference in length between my two feet! (btw, the color is far more accurate in these outdoor photos that it is for the picture of the two socks above).

Jaywalkers and new shoes
Here you can see my new shoes (which I love! And you can’t see it in this picture, but the bottoms of the shoes have a map print!)…and don’t they look awesome with my spiffy new socks?

All-in-all, I’m really happy with how these turned out. The pattern was a great one to follow for my first pair of socks, and I learned a lot from it (short rows, kitchener stitch, just general sock construction techniques). One thing I learned, though, was that my heels are gigantic, and thus an inflexible pattern like this one doesn’t work so well for me, because it’s very, very hard for me to get my heel through the leg portion. I couldn’t have knit a larger size because then it would sag around my scrawny ankles. I’m really happy with them, and I can get them on, but I probably won’t make this pattern again (for myself, I mean…it was so fun, I’ll just have to find a skinnier-heeled person to knit them for) because of my ginormous heels. My next pair of socks will have to have a stretchier pattern in the leg. I really enjoyed knitting these and feel ready to knit all kinds of awesome socks now!

One thought on “Finished Object (Jaywalker Socks)

Leave a Reply

