some works in progress and other knitting-related rambling

Standard

I made a little bit of progress on a couple of my knitting projects during my grad school visits and Spring Break. I’d hoped to do more, but the flu sucked the life out of me and I didn’t even have the energy to knit. And now I’m back to work and school (only working one job this quarter, though, so perhaps I won’t be quite so crazy busy as I was last quarter), so who knows what kind of time I’ll have for knitting.

While I was bored in the hotel at Northwestern, I gave my second Jaywalker sock a heel. I believed I even mentioned doing so here on lj. I haven’t gotten a chance to do much more with it since then, but here a picture that shows the heel as well as I could manage (it’s really hard to take a good picture of the sock at this stage!):

sock #2 in progress

I wound up getting a bit more done on the Rogue sweater (which has been on hold for quite awhile, as last quarter was so mentally draining that following a complex chart was the last thing I wanted to do when I got home) when I took Andrew to the health center. Even though it’s not new progress, here’s a picture of the cable at the throat, just because I love it (the strand of yarn you see on the left hand side is an end that still needs woven in):

rogue throat

The new progress is on the hood, which you can see below. I’ve still got quite a lot of knitting to go, but I’m done with the hood-increases so that’s progress. I love how it looks so far!

hood cable

Isn’t it awesome?! I’m not going to finish this until it’s too warm to wear (though it’s so cold in SOC that I can wear it to work, at least), but it should be great next year.

I have a few projects that I’d like to get going on soon. First, I’d like to knit a pair of baby booties for our neighbor, who is either still very very pregnant or has already had the baby (haven’t seen her since before my marathon of visits the past couple weeks, so I don’t know). They’ve been so nice to us, so I’d like to do something nice for them. I tried to cast on for a pair this weekend, but screwed up the pattern and ripped it out. I also want to knit Andrew’s mom’s giraffe (which means I need to actually design said giraffe) before Mother’s Day. It was supposed to be a Christmas present, but she wound up getting the yarn and an IOU instead. I don’t know what else I’ll want to start on after I’ve got that done…maybe some more socks, maybe another sweater…we’ll just have to wait and see!

Leave a Reply

