end of summer, and a new WIP

Standard

Well, it didn’t take me long to get swatching for M’s “Extra Yarn” sweater:

Swatching.

I’m holding the yarn doubled, and using size 8 needles, and the fabric I’m getting has a very nice feel to it. It’ll be a nice warm sweater, but still fairly drapey.

After I had my gauge (4sts/inch exactly!), I did some math and sketching, and I cast on:

madrigal's sweater in progress

I’m planning a somewhat A-line shape, so there will be a couple decrease rounds in the body. I made a knit-in folded hem, with a purl turning round, and am planning to pick up from those purled stitches to create an attached i-cord finish once I’m done. Basically, I’m aiming for an “all-stockinette” look, just like the sweaters in Madrigal’s book.

Well, it’s September now, and that means it’s the end of summer, and the start of a new school year. I’ve been feeling incredibly anxious about the coming year; I’m teaching two classes for the first time in my life (I’ve only ever taught one per semester before). One is a freshman writing class (the same as I’ve taught the past three years now, though with a slightly shifted topic) and one is a large lecture class, which is a bit out of my comfort zone. It’s not that I get nervous speaking in front of large groups of people (I don’t, as a rule), but more a matter of it not playing to my strengths as a teacher, which are put to much better use in small, discussion-based classes. I’m really good at connecting with students, meeting them wherever they are and helping them get to where they need to be (I don’t know why this is something I’m good at, but I just am). But I can’t connect individually with 120+ students, you know? I’ll do what I can to bring a bit of that into my giant class, though. But oh, I’m so very scared of how I will manage my time; I know how much time my writing class tends to consume, and now I’ll be prepping and giving 3 lectures a week on top of that, and I need to finish my dissertation, and look for a job, and it’s just overwhelming to think about.

on mama's back, with pinwheel

It’ll be strange not to spend as much time with my dear Madrigal, too. She’ll be in nearly full-time school this year (two days a week, she stays until 5pm, the other three, she stays until 3pm). On some level, it is a relief – she’s ever so energetic and demanding and I’ve been wearing a bit thin as the summer goes on (I was sick for most of July, and haven’t ever fully recovered) – but I know I will miss her. We’ll just have to make the most of those late afternoons, and hope that mama can find a way to get things done that doesn’t involve spending every waking moment working.

swinging high

I’ve never been as anxious about the start of a new school year as I am about this one. So many sleepless nights, with racing thoughts full of worries. I hope I can find a way to keep making things, to keep my crafting time sacred, to keep myself more centered and whole during this stressful year ahead of me.

One thought on “end of summer, and a new WIP

  1. Angela Hickman

    What a fantastic colourway! I can’t wait to see how this turns out. And don’t worry too much about school – you’ll be great.

Leave a Reply

