remember this?

Standard

Just a quick post today, since I’ve got lots of work to get done, and have been knocked flat by what I hope is only a minor cold (it would certainly be bad timing for it to be anything else, since I take over on the lecturing in the class I’m co-teaching next week). Anyway, remember how I was knitting a modernized gansey, way back in July? Well, I’ve picked it back up again, and just yesterday finished the saddle for the left shoulder, leaving me with only the right shoulder, and a bit of garter around the neckline to go. Here’s what it looks like:

so close. [365x2.135]
(Obviously I have some ends to weave in, too!)

I couldn’t be happier with the fit! I knit a seamless set-in sleeve, maintaining the stitch patterning as best I could, but instead of completely closing the sleeve at the top, I took the tiny little baby cable that runs up the center of the sleeve, and carried it across as the tiniest of saddles to join the front and the back. I wasn’t entirely sure this was going to work as well in real life as it did in my head, so it was quite a relief to have it come out so nicely.

Well, that’s it for now! Back to lecture-prepping, housekeeping, and most importantly of all, RESTING. Have a lovely Sunday, everyone!

24 thoughts on “remember this?

    • Yeah, I’ve been knitting so much with worsted and aran-weight yarns lately that it feels super lightweight! I really should knit with sport/dk yarn more often.

      -whitney

  1. Seamless set-in sleeves? That sounds. . .exactly like what I want to do with the sweater I’m designing for myself, do you have a link to anywhere that explains how that might work?

    • Oh, I do! I learned to do seamless set-in sleeves from Elizabeth Zimmermann’s books. I’m fairly certain there are directions in “Knittindg Workshop”, and there is also a Spun Out (Number 21, I think) that covers the technique. Her directions tend to be fairly minimal, but if you’re happy to play around with them, you’ll get it figured out. It’s all a matter of changing the rate of decreases, and whether or not you’re taking stitches away from the body or the sleeve with each decrease.

      -whitney

    • Thanks! I’m getting a bit stuck figuring out how to finish the neckline, but I just might have it done by this coming weekend! I’m hoping to write up a pattern for this (or something very much like it) down the road.

      -whitney

    • Yep, I’ve just got to figure out the best way to finish the neckline, and then I’ll be finished! I’m doing my best to rest, but it’s a bit difficult when you’re doing as much teaching and tutoring as I’m doing this semester.

      -whitney

  2. Yay! I love reading about knitting experiments that work better than expected. It looks great – I didn’t realize it was short sleeves, but it works really well with the style.

    • Thanks! I think most of what I knit are experiments, and it is always nice when they turn out well! (Of course, I often don’t show all of the ripping and reknitting that goes on in the background on the way to a finished knit!) I don’t know why I always envisioned this design with short sleeves (they’re not exactly normal for a gansey), but I really like how they look.

      -whitney

  3. Gramma Phyllis

    You scored again with a great design. Even with the short sleeves you will be able to wear it year-round. Take care of yourself as there is a lot of illness going around the schools here is Rochester as you well know.

    • Thanks! I’m really happy with this one. I’m thinking it could work really well under a blazer once it gets really chilly.

      Oh, yes, we’ve had so many sick students in this class I’m teaching. I’m doing my best not go get taken down with them!

      -whitney

    • Thank you! I’m really happy with how it turned out…it looks like what I was envisioning all along, but you just never know until you knit it up whether it will look like what you expect it to.

      -whitney

  4. Aren’t seamless set-in sleeves just genius? I couldn’t believe I’d never tried them before this summer. Your ganseyette is looking glorious… I hope you can get some good rest and stay well!

Leave a Reply

