it’s a new year.

Standard

So let’s start with an “old” project! Here is my darling husband’s sweater, so ridiculously close to completion it isn’t even funny:

all but done.

All that’s left to do is some end-weaving (the ends are more numerous than you’d expect, given that I spit-spliced wherever possible!), a little bit of buttonhole cleanup, a good blocking, and putting the buttons on. But since the buttons aren’t due to arrive in the mail for a few days, there’s no big rush. I want to make sure I documented the finishing work before I forget what I did, so here goes:

closeup of collar treatment

To make the collar, I picked up stitches from the neck opening, and knit 7 inches in garter rib. I then folded the ribbing, and bound off, knitting the stitches together with the backs of the picked up stitches in the process to get a nice clean edge. I love the way this makes for a nice squishy collar.

Button Band & Steek Facing

After I steeked and knit the collar, I picked up and knit stitches for the button band in my main color, using EZ’s trusty 2:3 ratio. Then I knit 7 rows in stockinette (making 3-stitch button holes on the side where that was needed) before knitting a purl turning row. I then switched to smaller needles, and my contrast color, and continued in stockinette to make a facing for the button band. (EDIT: I also made corresponding button holes in the contrast color to line up with the ones I made in the main color, on the button hole side).

At the very end of this, I switched back to my main color, and knit the stitches together with the backs of the stitches in the pick-up row, but did not bind off. Instead, I continued knitting in my main color, to create a facing to cover the steek stitches. Once I’d knit five more rows, I bound off by picking up stitches from the far side of the garter stitch column that borders the button bands, knitting them together with the stitches being bound off. This process took forever but made for a beautifully finished edge, with nicely covered steeks, so that my husband doesn’t have to worry about them.

Button Bands, front view

I’m so delighted with how nicely this sweater has turned out. I can’t wait to show it off in all its finished glory, once I do the last bit of finishing work. It is going to look so good on my husband!

I have a new project on the needles now, but I’ll save that for another post. Perhaps later today, even! Happy New Year, everyone!

8 thoughts on “it’s a new year.

  1. Thanks for all of your finishing notes. I’m planning to make a steeked sweater for my husband soon, and I’ll refer back to these! Did you have to make the buttonhole twice, one after the purl row in the hemmed edge?

    Can’t wait to see it all finished up!

  2. my sweater is in the same state. the zipper bands are done – i just need to sew in the zipper. ACK! did you block the collar so that it would lay flat instead of being puffy? i’m not sure how to do this.

Leave a Reply

