back in the saddle

Standard
Andrew's sweater, take 2

As you can see, it didn’t take me long to dust myself off and get right back to knitting a sweater for my husband. All it took was some more measuring and some negotiations on the matter of what would constitute the “perfect” sweater. The conclusion is that this will be a fairly plain cardigan, based on Elizabeth Zimmermann’s Seamless Hybrid design. I’m knitting it in the round, so as to be able to finish it faster.

Andrew's sweater, take 2

cardigan + knitting-in-the-round = STEEKS!

That’s right, I’m going to be cutting through my own knitting for the very first time with this sweater. I’m slightly terrified, but am well-armed with tutorials on the matter, so I think I’ll be fine. As you can see in that picture, before joining the sweater to be knit in the round, I did do some flat knitting. We had decided that turned hems would look more flattering on this sweater than ribbing, and my husband thought it would be fun to have a contrasting hem-facing, just like my Bohus Yoke sweater. It turned out that the very yarn that I used for my hem facings in that sweater looked great with the yarn I’m using for his sweater:

Andrew's sweater, take 2

Here’s how I did this, for anyone who’s never knit-in a hem before: I cast-on, using backwards-loop, onto smaller needles, in my main color, and then switched to the contrast color for the next row. I knit 8 rows of stockinette in the contrast color, and then switched to the main color again for one more row. Then I knit a turning row (which would be purled on the right side, but I was on the wrong side, so it was knit), and then switched to larger needles for outside part of the hem. When I’d knit enough rows on the outside of the hem to be able to fold up the inside of the hem and have the cast-on row be even with the current row, I knit each stitch together with its corresponding cast-on stitch (this is why backwards loop works so well for the cast-on!). When I got to the end of that row, I cast on 7 extra stitches (for my steek; 2 purl stitches on either side of 5 central knit stitches) and joined to knit in the round.

The sweater itself is going to be fairly plain; it will have a collar, and will almost certainly be finished with a button-band. As much as I’d love to go hog-wild with cables and detailing, that’s just not what this sweater needs. I’ll knit something fancier for him down the road, if he’ll take it. The lone detail (at least so far) on this sweater is a simple 2-stitch column of garter stitch, separated from the steek by a single knit stitch:

Andrew's sweater, take 2

I think it adds a nice little touch. So anyway, that’s what I’m up to. We’ll see how quickly I can knit this one up!

8 thoughts on “back in the saddle

  1. I think your choice of a turned hem is a great one – I’d say men probably need less of the shaping offered by ribbing than women generally do! I hope this one works out better.

  2. mick

    Yay! Good for you getting right back in the game. I think it’ll be lovely; a less fancy sweater would get more wear by Jason, at least.

  3. Bex

    Good luck with this iteration – I seem to have been ripping and re-knitting so many projects lately. It takes a strong will to jump right back in!

  4. I love the contrasting hem color – it adds such a nice and elegant, yet simple touch.

    I’m eager to see how the steeks turn out – haven’t gone there yet and it makes me nervous cutting into knitting like that!

Leave a Reply

