taking it easy

Standard

my usual view

That’s my usual view these days, right there. Ren loves to lay in the groove between my legs while I’m working on stuff in bed, which I’ve been doing a lot of lately, because I’ve been feeling pretty awful. As soon as I started feeling a bit better this semester, I went crazy trying to catch up on everything, and quickly enough I got myself back to feeling as rotten as I had been before. Yep, that awful “push-crash” cycle that I’m sure those of you reading this who suffer from any sort of chronic health issue are familiar with. One of these days, I’ll learn.

Today I’ve decided to work from home on the couch, instead of on the bed, mostly because I wanted to watch the movie Frida in the background while I work, because I love the music and all of the colors in that movie. Of course, not having his usual resting spot has made Ren very mischievous today, and I’ve worn myself out trying to keep him from getting into things that he shouldn’t. Thank goodness for canned air (it’s the only thing that works!). I swear, sometimes he just gets in these spiteful moods, where he does naughty things just to taunt me, and make me get up and chase him. Alas, he often does this on days when I just don’t have the energy to keep up. Bad kitty!

As you might imagine, I’ve not made tons of progress on my Bohus Yoke since the last time I posted. Here’s where I stand on the sleeves:

Progress on Bohus Yoke sleeves

(sorry about the crap lighting, it’s the best I could do!) I’m about four inches away from finishing sleeve #2. So, obviously, I will not be finishing this sweater before the end of November, seeing as there are a whopping 2 days left in the month, and I am a busy bee as far as schoolwork is concerned. But that’s ok. I’ll finish soon enough, and NaKniSweMo has still been a good thing for me, as it’s helped me focus on a particular project. If you’ve been following this blog for any reasonable amount of time, you might’ve noticed that my ability to focus on finishing a project is a bit lacking! So I’m glad I tried to do it, and not at all unhappy that I didn’t manage it.

I do curse having such long arms, though! I mean, here I am, a petite 5’3, and yet I need to knit 19.5 inches just to reach my armpits? Craziness, I tell you. But my arms really are that long. Four more inches, though, and then I get to the yokey goodness! I’m really excited about that, even if it does take me until sometime in December to finish up.

10 thoughts on “taking it easy

  1. I do know the push-crash cycle well, though not personally — my girlfriend has Crohn’s disease and it’s so hard for her not to try to do too much the second she starts to bounce back from a relapse.

    It sounds like you’re doing a good job of taking your time and enjoying yourself on the sweater though — which is looking lovely, by the way.

    Hope you’re feeling better soon!

  2. I’m sorry you’re not feeling well. I’m in the final weeks of pregnancy and hating every minute of it because I’m so tired and uncomfortable…but of course, I know that I’ll feel better once the baby’s born. I can’t imagine how you have the patience to deal with whatever it is that’s making you sick. Sending good vibes your way.

    And by the way, what’s “canned air”? I’ve never heard of it.

  3. Try not to do too much, it’s hard; but, it’s especially hard this time of the year. Ny torso-arm length ration is a little disproportinate as well. Maybe that is why I don’t knit more sweaters for myself…sure, let’s go with that.

  4. Awww, Ren is so cute. Good thing for him, too, since he likes to get into the naughtiness sometimes. Our dog, Sadie, also goes looking for trouble if she feels we’re not paying enough attention to her. You’re doing great on the sweater. It’ll be so worth it in the end. Good luck on all your work. Sending you feel better vibes.

  5. I hope you are feeling better soon! It is hard to hold back when you are starting to feel good and want to do so many things! Ren is adorable! Those orange kitties are always into things, aren’t they?

  6. wishiwerebuffy

    Cute kitty!! Mine like to lay in between my legs too, but they get really grumpy when I try and move. (and your kitty has really cute paw pads – lots of floof between them!)

Leave a Reply

