there goes daylight…

Standard

NaKniSweMo progress

I have a feeling I’m going to be primarily posting on weekends for awhile, both because I’m ridiculously busy being a graduate student, and also because (partly due to said busy-ness as a graduate student) there is never any light during the times when I am at home, and since I like to post pictures, and pictures require light (at least, they do if I don’t want them to look like crap), I don’t have much to post except on the weekends.

This whole lack of sunlight thing has been hitting me quite hard since the time change. I think partly it’s because having the time change pushed back so far meant that at the point where we all had to adapt to the earlier evening, it was already a lot darker than it would have been had the time change happened a month earlier. In any case, I’ve always struggled with keeping my spirits up during the darker months. My husband likes to tease that I am “solar-powered”, because he swears he can literally tell whether or not it is rainy and dreary outside when I wake him up in the morning, just by my mood. It doesn’t help things that I spend the bulk of my time in my office at school, where there are no windows. Actually, I realized yesterday that last week was the first week of this entire semester where I have managed to be at the office, all day, for each of the 5 weekdays. This is both very good, because it means I am doing somewhat better, health-wise (and also sort of sad, that it’s 2/3 of the way through the semester and I’ve only just now managed to not miss a class or two in a week), and also very bad, because it meant I didn’t get very much in the way of sunlight last week.

What I did get a reasonable amount of was knitting time. Since my Bohus Yoke Pullover is knit in the round, I can knit it while I read papers, so I was able to knit a bit at the office. In fact, I’m now completely past the waist-shaping, and just need to knit the next couple of inches straight before it’s time to switch over to knitting the sleeves (which I got the needles for this afternoon, so I’m all set!). Here’s a better picture of my sweater so far, resting on the fallen leaves outside our house (despite the low light, fall has always been my favorite season, and I love the look of a nice pile of fallen leaves):

Better shot of Bohus Yoke progress

I’m really happy with how the waist shaping looks…I did directional decreases and increases on the outside of a 14-stitch region running up each side of the sweater…basically what it would have been like had I done my decreasing and increasing outside the garter gully on my Cobblestone, instead of increasing and decreasing the width of the garter gully. I think it’s fantastic. But really, I just can’t wait until I get to that yoke! I think fabulous yoked sweaters are what will get me through the dark months this time around.

5 thoughts on “there goes daylight…

  1. Gramma Phyl

    I agree on the lack of sunlight especially this past week here. I work outside driving a school bus but even I rarely saw the sun. As one TV weatherman calls it “Nosunvember”.

    Love the look of the new sweater. the hint of blue adds a little zing. Can’t wait to see the yoke and all its color.

  2. This time of year is so hard – I can’t get used to the dark skies at 4:30… posting on weekends is more than okay!

    The decreasing looks great. Such a lovely even gauge. This is going to be a great piece.

  3. this time of year just stinks. i get tired more easily and by 6pm I think it’s time for bed being that it’s pitch black out!!!

    the sweater looks great – love the contrasting hem!

  4. Yep, I’m with you on the daylight thing. I used to live in Fairbanks, AK, but since I’ve moved to Portland, OR the lack of daylight in the winter affects me more for some reason. I think it has to do with expectations, since I expected it to be a lot lighter down here.

Leave a Reply

